Is this possible?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by TSE, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    Hi, I am interested in doing something that might not be possible.

    I have an HP DM3, the ATI version. I have been interested in running Windows 98 to try and get it to run older games and programs seamlessly that don't exactly run on Windows 7/XP that great or at all.

    Is it possible to create a partition, install Windows 98, then install the drivers from the drivers disc I have? Would they work? Would I be able to run older games?
     
  2. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    possible but your drivers would most likely not be supported by win 98.

    check with ATI.

    just run xp and set the games .exe file to run i compatibility Win 98. that should work out a lot better for you.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Is running Win98 in virtualization a possibility? I know VirtualBox at least supports it.
     
  4. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    might still be a driver issue then if i am not to wrong.
     
  5. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #5
    It's possible, but I need 3d to be supported and none of the VMs support 3D for Windows 98, only the .NT operating systems.

    I am thinking maybe XP would be the way to go, but I still would have problems with some programs, so I kind of don't want to go that route.

    ... I do have an older computer at my house that runs Windows 98, is there any way I can use that as a server and run the operating system and program and access it from my laptop?
     
  6. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    can i suggest installing xp as a dual boot option on your HP laptop?

    that would save you a lot of problems. and it is a easy process to do.

    but to answer your question. yes. just access it remotely from your laptop. remote desktop :)
     
  7. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
  8. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #8
  9. Rampant.A.I. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #9
  10. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #10
    Okay guys, so how do I install Windows XP on a separate partition?
     

Share This Page