is this ram good for my macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by CBillups1, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  2. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  3. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  4. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #4
    It appears to be the correct ram chips. I can't say that the ram is good/bad.

    Good luck.
     
  5. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5

    another member refered me to that RAM

    i just waned to make sure it was good and there would be no problems.
     
  6. one1, Dec 11, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012

    one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #6
    I bought this:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Kingston-4G...EW-/290823608167?ssPageName=ADME:L:OU:US:3160

    $29.xx for 8gb of ram. Looks like they sold all 18 sticks they had.

    It literally got here an hour ago and I just booted up and put my Poly against the big iMac with with 8gb ram and it's unbelievable that it hangs with it on the big adobe programs. That Kingston ram in the poly that I just got is going against the Apple ram in the iMac and I think you can see how well it works. That's a 2.4 Core 2 against a 2.8 Quad Core i5 and they are less than a second apart.

    Video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIp8wpYUYFQ

    Now both booting 10.6.8, the Poly kills it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsrNCDpvNlM
     
  7. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    ended up buying the one i posted.

    hope all goes well.
     
  8. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Yeah, that RAM will be fine - Maybe a tad slower than the 1333MHz (or whatever it is) MacBook RAM, but it shouldn't be much slower :)
     
  9. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    i thought 1066 is whats recommended? :confused:
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    It is one of the two recommended. You can use either :)
     
  11. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #11
    That is the factory installed ram and it's the proper ram.
     
  12. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12

    thank you sir, wish me luck. should arrive in a few days. first time opening up my macbook and upgrading it. hope it works well!!!
     

Share This Page