Is this the right spec for me?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MsDawe, Jan 11, 2015.

1. MsDawe macrumors newbie

Hello, I've been lurking on this forum for a while and people here are helpful so I'm asking for some advice.

My faithful, nine-year-old Dell is showing its age and I'm looking at replacing it.

I work as a graphic designer in a PC-based office but occasionally dabble at home. I'm using Adobe CS2 but hope to upgrade to CS6 once I've updated my home computer. I primarily use InDesign, Illustrator and Photoshop. I'm really getting into my photography at the moment and process quite a few RAW files so this will be the replacement's main use.

I've looked at the 15" MacBook Pro Retina which is a bit cheaper than the iMac Retina (I'm in the UK). To be honest though I don't need the portability, I'm not keen on doing design on a laptop and that lovely retina display will be lost as it will just be plugged into another monitor.

I've spec'd up the following iMac 5K Retina:

1. i5 3.5GHz - I can do i7 if you think it's necessary or more 'future-proof'.
    2. 512GB SSD - I use just over half of my Dell's 256GB hard drive and over the past six months I've started backing things up to two separate external hard drives. I think the 512GB will be enough and the SSD seems to be preferable over Fusion.
    3. 8GB of RAM - I'll upgrade this myself but since I only have 1GB at the moment and a 512GB graphics card anything is a bonus!
    4. AMD M290x 2GB - I think this is enough or do I need the M295X?
    This is a fairly big investment for me so I want to get it right and to last me at least five years. I've looked at Windows PCs but the consensus from colleagues is that Macs, although more expensive are worth the extra initial outlay for the relatively hassle-free life you get from them.

Thanks in advance.

2. mojolicious macrumors 68000

mojolicious

That'll do you for five years. I wouldn't automatically upgrade the RAM beyond 8GB, either.