Is this the right version of XP I need?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bowdeni, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. bowdeni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    #1
    Hi all

    Wanna run Windows on my Macbook so I can use the BBC iPlayer, but I'm really confused by which version of windows I need to do just this. There seem to be hundreds of variations.

    Is the below what I require? If not, then please tell me what I need!

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/114048

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. GoodWatch macrumors 6502a

    GoodWatch

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    #2
    This seems the right one, but make sure it is a full version, not an upgrade. If you don't have to log-on to network servers, you don't need the Pro version. Please have a look at the free AVG anti-virus program as well if you will connect to Internet from within your XP session. Good luck.
     
  3. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #3
    Yeah, as long as you get any full XP version that has SP2 you'll be fine.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    OEM pretty much rules upgrade out.

    B
     
  5. GoodWatch macrumors 6502a

    GoodWatch

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    #5
    Yes, that was kinda silly of me. I thought an OEM version could only be purchased with a PC or another piece of hardware. Times must have been changed.:confused:
     
  6. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    Really that is just Windows SP2 there. I think the SP2B just has some of the security updates, Windows Media Player updates, .Net updates, etc... that had come out since the original release of SP2.

    Technically the OEM is supposed to accompany a piece of hardware but MS stopped caring since resellers would sell it with a 4 pin molex cable, for the included hardware requirement, I think MS also realized this would reduce piracy some. Plus it is locked to activating on one computer only, while the retail edition can be reactivated on a new computer when you format the drive on your previous one.
     
  7. bowdeni thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for the replies guys. The copy of XP that I linked to way on the 32 bit version, surelly I require 64 bit aye?
     
  8. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    NOOO, the driver support is much worse...
     
  9. bowdeni thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    #9
    Thanks for that heads up. I'll order the x32bit then!
     

Share This Page