Is this too good to be true? (eBay story)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nlivo, May 30, 2008.

1. nlivo macrumors 6502a

I put my iPhone up on eBay and just got this email:

"Hi,I'm a Doctor,based in USA,but out of the country due to official duties. Good product needs special attention. I was impressed going through the description of your item. This item is urgently needed and i can't wait till the auction ends, I am ready to pay $1140 USD for the item for ending the auction early and shipping fee via Australian Post international Express mail. I want to buy the item for my grandson who is currently studying in West Africa as a Birthday gift and since he's so crazy about this item. I would have love to get this myself at the store but the nature of my job will not allow me to do this at the moment.So please if you are interested in selling this item to me, kindly get back to me with your PayPal email address so l can tell my personal assistant to send out payment immediately via PayPal as it is very fast and reliable. I want the item shipped out as quickly as possible. Hope to hear from you soonest. Regards"

Is this too good to be true? I am just perplexed. I live in Australia. I had a buy it now for $700 Aussie dollars. Why would he do this?

2. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

orpheus1120

Something like this have been posted only recently. The content is similar except for name of the country etc.

Do not respond to this guy. Do a search for the thread I mentioned.

3. bpa1093 macrumors member

Ahh I dunno... sounds kinda sketchy. He never refers specifically to the iphone, he only says "this item", which would lead me to believe he is a scam artist. I mean, come on. West Africa? The more I write the more I think this guy is a fraud. I wouldn't do it! But that's just me.

4. LtheYak macrumors newbie

Its a scam stay away I have had many of these just remember if it sounds too good to be true it DEFINATELY is!

5. chrisparr macrumors regular

He'll buy it.