Is this wireless sync only for MAC?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Prissy, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. Prissy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
  2. nhamp07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    #2
    Nope. Under the summary page of your phone there should be a check box towards the bottom for wireless syncing. Then on the iphone go settings>general>itunes and click wireless sync.
     
  3. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
  4. Prissy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #5
    What do I do after that? Just unplug it and leave iTune open all the time? How do I sync wirelessly the next time?
     
  5. nhamp07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    #6
    you can manually do it when you hit that sync button on the phone or you can leave itunes open anytime you charge your phone it should automatically sync.
     
  6. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #7
    Not sure how it works on Windows, but on the Mac I don't think iTunes needs to be open to sync, but you have to activate the WiFi sync option in iTunes first. The problem is, at least on my 2007 iMac, the machine has to be awake to sync. Since the only time I plug my iPhone in is when I go to sleep, the computer is going to always be in sleep mode at that time. So I've found it fairly useless because I'm not going to walk across the house and wake up my computer every night for it to sync, and it's stupid to set your computer to always be awake 24 hours a day. Fortunately iCloud sync takes care of most things without my Mac having to be on and awake at the right time.
     
  7. evanrousso macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #8
    The phone doesn't actually sync wirelessly though, you have to plug it in to iTunes right? That has been my experience anyways.

    If that is the case, what is the point of wireless sync?
     
  8. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #9
    When you plug it in, there's an option to enable sync over WiFi. Once you enable that, it doesn't need to be plugged in anymore.
     
  9. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #10
    No, it does sync wirelessly now. You only have to (ironically) have it plugged in when you initially enable the syncing. But as I said, the requirement to have the computer on, and the iPhone plugged in (to power, not the computer) limits the usefulness for me.
     
  10. Prissy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #11
    good to know
    I guess we have to keep iTune open 24-7.
     
  11. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #12
    @HiRez: Phone plugged into power is only needed for automatic wifi sync.

    You can initiate sync manually anytime, no plugging in required.
     
  12. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    Only need to keep it open, when you want it to sync.
     
  13. Prissy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #14
    But the next time When I opens iTunes, the "David's iPhone" is not there anymore
     
  14. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #15
    Is the option "Sync this iPhone over Wi-Fi" checked?
    [​IMG]
     
  15. tigress666 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #16
    Are you pressing the eject button before you disconnect the iPhone?

    That's what I was doing and getting very frustrated cause I was doing everything correctly according to the posts I was seeing (had the iphone set to sync wirelessly and had the check box on itunes set to sync wirelessly).

    It wasn't until some one mentioned that casually that I realized that was the one thing I was doing differently. I think Apple is taking for granted that people don't eject their iphone before disconnecting and not realizing there are some people like me that do it just to be safe (harks back to when it was used like a storage disk and you could damage it if you didn't "eject" it first). So I am betting many people don't know that step themselves cause they don't bother pressing the eject before disconnecting.

    Sync it up to your mac via USB (after you tell it to sync wirelessly) and then disconnect it without pressing the eject button. As long as you don't press that eject button, you won't have to do that again (least on my mac. Even when I quit itunes and come back it still works).
     
  16. Prissy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #17
    yes it is...
    I tried both... doesn't work. Maybe it's because my PC is connected with a ethernet from the wireless router?
     
  17. tigress666 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #18
    Darn, I was hoping that would help :(. And no, can't be that, my computer is also connected to the 'net with a wireless router. But it's a Mac so I guess your mileage may vary but I'd be very surprised if that were it.
     

Share This Page