Is Turbo Boost working on the Nehalems?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by VirtualRain, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  2. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
  3. Boneoh macrumors 6502

    Boneoh

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #3
    That's interesting. The note on page 6 says:

    When Intel® Turbo Boost technology is
    requested by the OS, the processor will commonly
    operate between the max Intel® Turbo Boost
    technology frequency and the base operating
    frequency.

    I'm wondering if this means that there needs to be a change in OS X to take advantage of Turbo Boost. If so, was this put into 10.5.6? Or coming in 10.5.7? Or Snow Leopard?

    I understand that the 10.5.6 on the new MPs had the 4870 stuff in it, but I'm doubting that something like an os change based on the processor was added.

    How can we tell if the turbo is in boost? LOL Will we hear the whine?
     
  4. VirtualRain thread starter macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    Yeah, I'm familiar with that :)... I guess there's nothing comparible for OSX?

    We need someone with Vista on their MP to test this out.
     
  5. VirtualRain thread starter macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    Yeah, but I think later in the document it goes on to say that this feature is made transparent to the OS in BIOS... but either way, it would seem EFI or the OS needs an update to support this. Hopefully this functionality is in the firmware from day 1.
     
  6. SnakeOiler Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #6
    9.6.3 kernel is probably the difference. a 20 inch imac sitting here is 9.6.0 and a mac pro next to it is 9.6.3
     
  7. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #7
    well... on my bootcamp vista 64, I checked the computer properties and the processor info said 2.26Ghz E5520 2.39Ghz 2 processors
    so it seems that at least in windows the turbo boost was working, only one step it seems though:rolleyes:

    btw, sounded just normal, no whine
     
  8. suderman macrumors newbie

    suderman

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #8
    I'm curious about this too. Will "About this Mac" or "System Profiler" update to the higher clockspeed when in use? Or is this all magic behind the scenes and we just have to trust it's really happening? :)
     

Share This Page