Is upgrading to a newer Mac over rated?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bowadoyle, May 19, 2012.

1. bowadoyle macrumors newbie

I picked up a 11" 2010 Macbook air earlier this year and I must say, I love it it. Sure it's only a Core2Duo with 2GB of ram and 64GB sad, but it does everything I need quick. I'm only using it for school and Microsoft Office related task as well as email and surfing the net. I see no season to have a faster machine as I do not think I would notice the speed upgrade.

So don't you think in today's world, for most people, a new faster machine is a waste of money unless you really need it?

2. torana355 macrumors 68000

Im still using a 2008 iMac as my main machine and it does everything i need, i am only going to upgrade for usb3 and thunderbolt in the next 2 years or so. I have a 2011 MBA for my portable needs which should last over 5 years before needing an upgrade.

3. nissan.gtp macrumors 6502

I think if you skip several generations of machines, then the upgrade is very noticeable. If you buy every new system, you'll not get a lot of benefit unless there is a specific new capability that you want, like t-bolt.

4. jj48 macrumors regular

I agree. But the flip side of this argument is that one generation old macs have brilliant resale value and so upgrading every generation is not as expensive as it could be.

I can see why many people see the value in upgrading each year for maybe 1/5 or 1/4 of the value of the full price. This way you always have the newest machines and if you resell smartly won't spend too much. Compare this to keeping a machine for 4-5 years and not reselling it at all because it's worn out. It's the same cost over the period and yet you are stuck with (slightly) slower hardware for that time.

Personally I have a hard time working out which way is better value.

5. fortunecookie macrumors regular

fortunecookie