Is USB/Ethernet Adapter slower

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rpg51, Oct 6, 2012.

1. rpg51 macrumors 6502

rpg51

than a Thunderbolt / Ethernet Adapter when I am connecting to a large government network for internet access, file transfers and for running software over the government network (Microsoft Office programs).

I'm running a MBA with thunderbolt port. I have a USB/Ethernet Adapter and I am trying to decide whether to purchase a Thunderbolt/Ethernet Adapter or if it really won't improve things.

2. drsox, Oct 6, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012

drsox macrumors 65816

drsox

It's much much faster. I have a 2011 MBA.

12MBps (96Mbits/sec) for the USB/Ethernet (as it is only Fast Ethernet).
    100MBps + (800Mbits/sec +) for the TB/Ethernet. IF you have a Gigabit LAN connection (i.e. Cat5E wiring and above).

I have both and I was so unimpressed with the USB/Ethernet that I bought a Belkin GBLAN connector (USB/Ethernet) as a temporary item until the TB adaptor was available. With the Belkin I achieved 18MBps.

3. rpg51 thread starter macrumors 6502

rpg51

Thanks for the reply. But how do I know if I have a gigabit connection in my office? If I don't have a gigabit connection - I'm I correct that the Thunderbolt adapter won't change a thing??

4. justperry macrumors 604

justperry

You think they don't have, they have to, otherwise it costs them tons of money, people waiting costs money.

If you have a thunderbolt and the network is the 10/100 Mb/s it won't change a thing, you're right about that.

5. drsox, Oct 6, 2012

drsox macrumors 65816

drsox

Whatever the wiring you have you will be better off with the TB version. If you buy it from the Apple store you can even try it out for 14 days and send it back if it's really no use.