Is "use secure virtual memory" on by default.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nippyjun, Jan 3, 2009.

  1. nippyjun macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #1
    I was in my system preferences turning off the IR port and may have changed the "use secure virtual memory" setting by mistake and can't remember if it was on of off by default.

    I've searched other posts but see conflicting info..

    I'm using a new unibody macbook pro.

    Thanks
     
  2. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #2
    Yes. It's on by default now, surprisingly. I haven't touched the security settings on my unibody MBP and it is currently checked.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    It's off by default on both of my systems (one Tiger, one Leopard).
     
  4. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #4
    on my Mac mini G4 (recently upgraded to Leopard), i think it's off (don't have it in front of me)
     
  5. nippyjun thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #5

    Thanks.

    I just checked by unchecking it and it says that the system would need a reboot. So i must not have changed it.
     
  6. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  7. Mercellus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #7
    It is unchecked by default on my MacBook Pro (Late 2008) if performing a clean installation of Mac OS X 10.5.5 which shipped with the notebook. However, if you install Security Update 2008-007 or Mac OS X 10.5.6, Secure Virtual Memory does become enabled.
     

Share This Page