Is Verizon iphones sold in USA really unlocked ?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by AmrZeid87, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. AmrZeid87, Aug 17, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2013

    AmrZeid87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #1
    I heard that Sprint iPhones sold in USA (on AMAZON) are unlocked! while they are like 100$ cheaper than unlocked!!!

    I mean they have a slot for a nano sim card and can work on all networks that accept CDMA (as far as I heard)

    I am planning to take the phone with me to Egypt. so is it legal to take it abroad ?

    and if I got it, will it work in Egypt on Egyptian Vodafone network?

    How can I make sure before I leave USA that it will work in Egypt?

    Thank you very much guys for helping me out with this :)
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Don't buy a sprint iPhone.
    Those are locked.
    Only the verizon iPhone 5 is fully unlocked out of the box.
    Or Get one unlocked from an apple store to be 100% sure.
     
  3. anaqvi786 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    At iOS planet
    #3
    I don't think that Sprint iPhone 5s use SIM cards, instead they use some other card I think. I don't think that apple stores unlock iPhones, and the full price unlocked iPhones can't use CDMA.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Sprint iPhones use sims but they are used only when roaming outside the US on gsm networks.
    Apple doesn't unlock iPhones, only the carrier that the phone is locked to can unlock it. Apple sells factory unlocked iPhones.
    And you are correct the unlocked ones sold by Apple are only gsm. They won't work on CDMA networks.
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    SIMs are used for LTE purposes as well on CDMA models.
     
  6. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    Its required as LTE is a gsm based technology. It uses the SIM card for network authentication just as a normal gsm phone does.
     

Share This Page