Is Yosemite more CPU/Memory hungry than Mavericks?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Hustler1337, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. Hustler1337 macrumors 68000

    Hustler1337

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi guys,

    as the title says, just wanted to find out how memory and CPU efficient or inefficient Yosemite is compared to OS X Mavericks. Is it more demanding or less demanding from your experience so far?

    Thanks!
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I don't have it installed but I will say DP1 is probably a poor measuring stick on an operating system's resource utilization. Its going to be a bit more bloated anyways, just because its a developer preview - the first one to boot.
     
  3. yeldarbnamdlog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #3
    Having been using DP1 for several hours now, switching apps back and forth, opening many tabs in finder and safari, playing high def movies in VLC, and general cocking about with Yosemite, my activity monitor says I'm using 10.86GB of 16.00GB, with 0 bytes of Swap Used...So, all in all, DP1 is a bit more of a memory hog than Mavericks 10.9.3...Not a huge issue if you have a large amount of RAM, but when you only have, say, 4GB RAM, having it use an extra 1.25 -> 1.5GB can have a substantial impact!

    As for CPU, it's no better or worse than Mavericks 10.9.3, and this is all based on an Early-2011 MacBook Pro 15-inch.
     
  4. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #4
    Developer Previews have a lot of debug code in them, so it's hard to say whether OS X Yosemite is more resource hungry than OS X Mavericks until the final thing has been released.
     
  5. sbursik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Richardson TX
    #5
    I am running DP1 on a Mid 2013 Macbook Air with 4GB of RAM. I am using Memory Clean to see how much memory is being used and with my normal apps open, I am swapping regularly.

    I might shut some background utilities off just to see what happens.
     
  6. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #6
    It would be logical to assume that it's a bit more hungry than Mavericks since it has so many transparent/blur UI elements. But the difference shouldn't be big.
     
  7. Yakibomb macrumors 6502

    Yakibomb

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #7
    I'm finding that it's pretty much the same as Mavericks, which is pretty good considering all the debug code and what not :D
     
  8. NickPP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    #8
    After a little less than a week of usage, I'd say it's a right on par, but might have a slight bit more pull than Mavericks. However though, I'm sure the team at :apple: are working diligently to cleanup the interiors ;)
     
  9. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #9
    Seeing how Yosemite isn't at the beta 1 stage, the question is premature, in my opinion. It is an illogical question based on an illogical comparison.
     
  10. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #10
    iMac with 32 gigs

    With Mavericks I would have, generally, 21 free gigs of ram, with DP1 of 10.10 I have 25. So it seems that, very unscientifically, it may be using less.:)
     
  11. vigilant macrumors 6502

    vigilant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #11
    Hard to tell for the final product but I wouldn't recommend anyone using Yosemite for production purposes.

    My new Macbook Retina 13, with 16GB of RAM is really clunky with scrolling right now. I'm also seeing random spikes in CPU.

    Yes this is a beta. iOS 7 had far far worse problems then this during development so everyone's mileage will vary.

    Don't expect to get the same performance right now that you would on your normal production mac
     
  12. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #12
    +1. It's far too early to compare the two.

    ----------

    The first few iOS 7 betas were horrifically bad!
     
  13. puccaso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #13
    ram

    i'm using yosemite and the ram usage is crazy
    i got 16gb of ram and on a normal day, i have 4gb free..

    i never get force closes, or hangs, but
    i dont understand why theres so much ram usage

    chrome seems to be the culprit, and i hate safari so... i guess we have to wait
    i'm using the 64bit chrome


    any ideas?
     
  14. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #14
    Empty RAM is useless. Check the RAM Pressure graph in the Activity Monitor, if Green you are all good. OS X will keep closed apps in RAM for instance until it needs the RAM for something else. There is no overhead to doing this, if it needs the RAM it will take it.
     
  15. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #15
    Everything is working as it should then. Leave the memory management of the operating system to do its job.
     
  16. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #16
    It's because most of you are not able to understand how RAM is now used. Apple spoke about in back in the 10.9 launch.

    Basically OS X is now using Memory pressure. How this work is the way each program uses as much memory as possible. When you switch to a different program it is suspended and the new program wil become active in the same way. That is why you have to look at Memory Pressure now instead.
     
  17. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #17
    A lot of this is actually incorrect from a technical point of view, but at the same time, it's not a bad way to explain it.
     
  18. Merks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #18
    I had massive slowdowns until I turned off "Translucency". Now everything is running fast (faster?) than Mavericks!
     

Share This Page