ISA on a Mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by doobi18, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. doobi18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Hey guys,

    An institution I am afiliated with operates a Microsoft ISA network which allows any VistaBook (PC laptop:p) to be plugged in (with the "Automatically Detect Settings" box checked) and recieve full functionality with internet, server and printer access.

    However, a large number of my friends use macs and see servers listed, but cannot access the web.

    Unfortunately, any tweaking must be at our end as the administraters are not wlling to change their server settings in any way.

    What can we do to connect to the internet?


    Thanks a bunch for your help,


    Doobs
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Apparently, you're not alone with this issue... try looking here.
     
  3. doobi18 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    dw

    for all interested?

    fill in web proxy in Syst Prefs to host's IP & 8080 port = full functionality
     
  4. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    I did some work for one rather large entertainment company that had a good mix of PCs and Macs and installed ISA server for their proxies. The best way round for authenticated Internet access on the Macs was for them to use Firefox, which was the only Mac browser at the time with integrated NTLM. This was back in 2004 so things may have changed, but just thought I'd through it out there that Firefox and ISA do play nice.
     

Share This Page