isight camera removal procedure

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mercury7, Mar 11, 2008.

1. Mercury7 macrumors 6502

I googled it alot and can't seem to find a procedure for removing the isight from the macbook pro, my local service center wants 120.00 to remove it so I was just trying to see if I could do it myself. Has anyone seen a procedure some where?

2. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

Why do you want to remove it (couriosity)? I find the most useful guids at iFixit.com, check there

3. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks

just did theres nothing about removing the isight

4. Mercury7 thread starter macrumors 6502

thanks....cameras not allowed where I work....I studied ifixit but they only deal with lcd removal.....it got me thinking it is not to hard to pry the back off.....just does not address removing the camera

5. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

I checked after posting and don't see any either, but why do you want it gone?

6. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

hmmmmm, yeah I would just look at the lcd guide and "see how deep the rabbit hole goes". if you know what I mean lol, you can probably figure it out once you open it up

7. AaronRC macrumors member

Can't you just stick something over it when you're at work? :confused:

8. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

Do they outlaw camera phones too? How do they even know it has a stupid built in camera? :)

9. Mercury7 thread starter macrumors 6502

I work in a nuke plant....security checks all laptops and phones for cameras.....not only that....if it has a hole where the camera is suppose to be they won't let it in either....so I have to remove the camera and cover the bezel.....I am planning on using the material that moshi palmguard uses on their macbookpro products. I guess you can tell I am really dedicated to apple lol :)

10. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

Why not just cover over it any forget removing it altogether, if you have the bondo/covering skills?