iSight Disappearing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tuftywhite, Oct 9, 2007.

  1. tuftywhite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Nottingham/UK
    #1
    Has anybody suffered the same problem as me. I have a MB Core Duo. From time to time it loses the connection to the iSight camera.

    I have had a new logic board fitted but it still happens. It is an intermittent fault and it's getting a bit annoying.

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Can you think of any widgets that may be accessing it at the same time? What other apps are running? :)
     
  3. tuftywhite thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Nottingham/UK
    #3
    I've closed everything down. I don't think any of my widgets use the camera. Funny thing is, it wasn't working all yesterday afternoon, rebooted several times, started up, nothing, then put it to sleep overnight. This morning it was working again. Just checked if it was still working and it's now showing me a green screen in Photobooth. I took a picture and got a big green square.

    I'm not running any other apps that use the camera.

    It's flumoxing beyond belief!!! :eek:
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. tuftywhite thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Nottingham/UK
    #5
    Thanks dude, I tried that before they changed the logic board. Still had intermittent faults. Still have in fact. I've tried my external iSight, that works fine. System Profiler doesn't recognise the camera when it's not working, could it be a problem with the internal USB stuff thingy? (I'm not very techie)

    Otherwise it's the long drawn out process of trying to get a replacement MacBook. (Don't laugh!!!)
     
  6. paulyras macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    I have the same thing happen on my CD2.0 blackbook. Really annoying, but it's got all other sorts of problems (flickering screen, etc...), which I alays attributed to the shear level of abuse my computers got though (100+ flights per year, etc...). I could kick myself for not buying Applecare, but its also my excuse to get a new MBP when Leopard is released.

    I haven't been able to figure out any rhyme or pattern to it at all. Really weird.

    I'd love to know what Apple ends up doing.

    Paul
     
  7. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7

    Did you zap the PRAM as in the apple article? My sister in law got the green screen and the computer didn't think a camera was conneted (internal, of course). Worked find after following the restart instructions.
     
  8. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #8
    Saw this once with a customers computer. We went nuts trying to figure it out and checked all the usual suspects. So we finally ordered a new iSight module. When we took apart the screen to install we found the USB connection right near the camera was lose. It is a small little mini plug at the end of a 2 inch wire coming from the camera module itself.

    Kevin :apple:
     
  9. tuftywhite thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Nottingham/UK
    #9
    Kevin, you could be right with this one. As to Le Big Mac, I have zapped until my arms fell off. (Not really but I'm sure you understand the humourous connotations of resetting the PRAM until one's arms actually fell off. Obviously it wouldn't cause arms to fall off nor have they, as I am typing this with my hands, which are connected to my body by a system I like to call arms) :)

    I'm more inclined to go with a loose connection, as it seems to work after I've moved it, like taking it to work, coming home etc. I'm getting a new HD fitted tomorrow, I'll ask them to take a look at the connection and that should be the answer.

    Watch this space. ( )

    Update: New HD fitted, they didn't have time to look at the iSight. More to come when I get annoyed enough to get it fixed.

    ttfn

    tufty
     

Share This Page