iSight Not Recognized

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Aperture, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    Hi Everyone. I'm trying to get a Macbook's iSight working. The Macbook is running Leopard, currently. When I go to open Photo Booth, I get the camera icon with a slash through it - indicating the camera isn't connected/available. The same problem happens with other applications. I don't believe it is listed in System Profiler, though if it was listed as something other than "iSight" I could have missed it.

    I tried a few applications that are supposed to kick start it, reset the P Ram, reset the SMC, etc to no avail. Any ideas?

    Thanks (PS: I don't have the Macbook right now, when I get a chance tomorrow I'll run software update)
     
  2. scr1968 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #2
    I have the exact same problem with a work computer. Never bothered to have IS look at it but I suspect there is something disconnected inside the computer since the iSight isn't showing up anywhere. I'd love to find out it is a simple reset of some sort - not that I have any use for the camera here at work. Going on 1 1/2 years of it not working - not a high priority.

    SCR
     
  3. Pine-Tree macrumors member

    Pine-Tree

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #3
    I had the same problem with my macbook air. Did all SMC and PRAM resets, it worked, but then after a couple days the isight would go out again. Took it to an Apple store and they ended up replacing it with a new one.

    So if you tried everything and it still doesn't work, check your system profiler to make sure it's recognized under usb at least, if so take it to Apple to get it replaced if it's still under warranty. Hope this helps.
     
  4. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #4
    i just restarted the computer and it worked for my 2 yr old macbook
     
  5. anirban macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #5
    Yeah, after the PRAM/SMC resets, if it still doesn't work, I would take it to Apple Store and see what they have to say.
     
  6. DrivenNails macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    Did you ever get it fixed? What did they say?
     

Share This Page