isight on Mac Pro 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jack070767, May 24, 2019.

  1. jack070767 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    #1
    Today I've installed a isight camera (classic) on my Mac Pro 5.1 (Mojave) by Firewire 600>800.
    Works fine... but the video resolution is low.
    I can't find any setting menu on Mojave.
    Can you help me?
     
  2. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Compared to what you can get today, resolution was indeed pretty low, as far as actual pixels AND the quality of the image. However, if you are noticing an excessively "blocky" image, what I've done to correct that when it occurs is to open QuickTime Player, choose File > New Movie Recording, then choose the iSight on the source drop down that's beside the record button. This usually causes the iSight to "clear its head" and show full resolution again.
     
  3. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
  4. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #4
    iSight is a wonderful little device - I keep several of them around. Will second the recommendation for Logitech.
     
  5. jack070767 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    #5
    On my isight I have different focals lenghts between FaceTime and Quickplayer.
    Quickplayer is better because wide lenght and FaceTime worse because tele lenght...
     
  6. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #6
    I use one of these as well, on a 5,1. The quality is decent for 480. But it is obviously an SD camera. If it's not good enough for you, get a new camera. I personally find the FireWire iSight good enough for me.
     

Share This Page

5 May 24, 2019