Isn't iOS 10 beta 6 availble for public beta testers?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by richard371, Aug 17, 2016.

  1. richard371 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #1
    I decided to upgrade from iOS 9 to the public beta and it only lets me get beta 5. After I installed it I tried software update and it says up to date. Iphone 6S 14A5341a

    Thanks
     
  2. JCCL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #2
    That's is the latest beta, developer beta 6 or public beta 5, both are 14A5341a. Same build. Just different beta numbering as public beta didn't get the developer beta 1 build
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    iOS 10 developer beta/preview 6 = iOS 10 public beta 5
     
  4. richard371 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
  5. matthew23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #5
    I have version 14A5335b installed (previous beta version, I beleive) and when I go to update, it says iOS 10.0 - your software is up to date. Also, I cannot find my profiles any more...any advice?

    Nevermind - somehow the profile got deleted and I had to reinstall. Now it gives me the option to go to beta 5.
     
  6. robertkarlsen macrumors 6502

    robertkarlsen

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Location:
    Halmstad, Sweden
    #6
    Developer Beta has allways 1 number higher...next release will be Developer Beta 7 & Public Beta 6....or just GM for both
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    Not always one number. Most of the time DP 3 = PB1. This release has been different from prior iOS X.0 and 9.x.x releases.
     
  8. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #8
    Hard to say "most of the time" just yet. This is only the second year of public betas.
     
  9. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #9
    No different than OS X/macOS. This is the third year of that. But its not like there weren't any updates between last September and now. More than not, DP 3 = PB 1.
     
  10. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #10
    Hard to say "most of the time" just yet. This is only the second year of public betas.
    Mac is a different monster. We are talking iPhone. And for iPhone the trend last year was PB being 2 #s behind. This year PB is 1 # behind. No trends yet. For all we know next year public will get beta same day as devs
     
  11. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #11
    How does 9.1/9.2/9.3/9.3.2 not constitute as a trend? Again, more times than not, DP3 = PB1.
     
  12. thegrants82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Right here
    #12
    Wait a minute, wait a minute, wait a minute. I thought the public beta was never released until 48 hours after the dev? What gives?
     
  13. akuma13 macrumors 6502a

    akuma13

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #13
    The ios 10 dev betas have been running so smoothly that the time between the Dev and public betas has narrowed to same day release.
     
  14. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #14
    This eventually happens with all betas over time. It's a sign that the GM/Final Release is almost ready.
     
  15. andygill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    #15
    Anybody know a solution to this error with the new Public Beta 6 release, I'm going crazy. Thank you so much

    FullSizeRender - Copy.jpg
     
  16. Shockwave78 macrumors 65816

    Shockwave78

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #16
    So the public beta and the developer have always been the same?
     
  17. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #17
    No, DP 7 = PB 6. This year, PB has been one # behind, but its the same build. If you were referring to build number then yes.
     
  18. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #18
    The beta numbering is different, but the builds themselves are exactly the same.
     
  19. andygill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    #19
    yup but public beta started when developer beta was in it's 2nd iteration so for that reason
    Public Beta version = Developer Beta version minus 1
    for eg :
    Public Beta 2 = Developer Beta 3
    Public Beta 3 = Developer Beta 4 and so on.....
     
  20. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #20
    Try deleting the downloaded update in Storage and downloading it again.
     
  21. briankeith513 macrumors 6502a

    briankeith513

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #21
     
  22. andygill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    #22
    Tried it already many times. Still the same :/

    --- Post Merged, Aug 20, 2016 ---
    @briankeith513 hmm, thanks for the update, I just don't wanna do a reset
    But it's a Checkmate I guess :(
     
  23. Micool1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    #23
    Have you tried deleting the public beta profile and reinstalling it? I had that error once and it got fixed by doing that.
     
  24. andygill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    #24
    Hi, yeah I tried that quite a few times even with a reset in between uninstalling and reinstalling the profile and then redownloading the update but still the same.

    In my OTA error log I saw the following:

    {"restore_payload_version":"14A5345a","restore_type":"OTAUpdate","os_version":"14A5341a","itunes_version":"14A5341a","bug_type":"183","name":"iPhoneRestore","restore_error":"11"}

    And towards the end of this log there is this:

    [{"targetOSVersion":"14A5345a","installTonight":false,"deviceClass":"iPhone","storageCapacity":60470,"systemFsCapacity":4011,"currentOSVersion":"14A5341a","dataFsCapacity":56459,"currentOSType":"Beta","reportVersion":1,"type":"ota","event":"applyFinished","systemFsFree":640,"eventTime":"1471766560065","failureReason":"MobileSoftwareUpdateErrorDomain 11 (Could not set up boot environment.);MobileSoftwareUpdateErrorDomain 7 (failed to create boot partition for update. error 1);","uptime":

    Does anyone know about this???
    Maybe this means something
     
  25. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #25
    Have you ever jailbroken this device? Not saying it's a known issue, just wondering if that could somehow muck up creating boot partitions.
     

Share This Page