Isn't Time Machine supposed to manage HD space?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by NunoBerny, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. NunoBerny macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #1
    Hello.

    My Time Machine external disc has become full. I thought Time Machine would start deleting old stuff to make room, but it simply spouts an erro, saying the disc is full.
    Manually deleting things seems to be a recipe for problems, so I'm a bit lost what to do.

    Maybe wait for the new version of MacOS and hope this improve the temperamental Time Machine tool? :)
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Mine tells me it is full and is going to start deleting the oldest back ups
    I click to confirm that I understand what is happening and move on
    Have you checked the preferences?
     
  3. NunoBerny, Mar 29, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2014

    NunoBerny thread starter macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #3
    Mine said that,too, at first, and it continued to work fine.
    But after a while (about 3 or 4GB free), it simply fails to backup.
    My preferences are set for TM to ask before deleting data.

    IMHO, it would be better to be able to easily delete older backups.
    For example: delete every backup older than X days.
    As it works, unless I'm really missing something, you have to enter TM and then delete on a file/folder basis.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    I have never had to do that and my TM is still deleting the oldest backups automagically
     
  5. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #5
    How large is the Time Machine Backup volume? And, how large is the used space on the volumes being backed up?

    I'm wondering if the space available for even one backup on the time machine drive is too small for everything you're trying to back up.
     
  6. NunoBerny thread starter macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #6
    My backup disc is 1TB. The discs it's backing up are both 500GB, but each has more than 100GB free.
    That shouldn't be a problem, I'd assume.

    I've decided to start a backup from scratch and will probably buy a 2TB unit later, but it's still annoying that all is not working as it should, really.

    TM is a nice tool, but I'd like some more control...
     

Share This Page