ISP Speed - Fixed it, But need advice?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by thomamon, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. thomamon macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #1
    So I noticed my internet speed had not been up to par with with what I was paying for. Not that I was complaining, I was getting 50 down but I was suppose to be getting 150 down. But I was having problem with some internet connections in my house, including wired connections. Someone suggested to bypass the Router on my Cable Modem and just use my Airport Extreme. So I decided to take them up on it, took a while but I got that working.

    I had to move my Airport Extreme to the closet next to my modem, which was no problem at all. Once I had it up and running I realized after moving it my iMac would no longer have an ethernet connection. So I decided to do a speed test to see how fast it was. Turned out my Retina iMac was now getting this crazy speed over wifi:

    [​IMG]

    So now I decided that since my new Apple TV was having problems with the wired connection, and the Apple TV is only feet away from the Airport Extreme, I would use the wifi setting on the Apple TV.

    I then moved on to my Wifes iMac. Which is connected via ethernet. I did a test and she was only getting about a 45Mbps download speed. I decided to unplug her ethernet and test it with the wifi. And BOOM, it now matched my iMac.

    So why the hell is my wired connection slower then my Wifi? And my dilemma is it really worth looking into to fix it, or just let everything go wifi?

    I do have a switch setup to add multiple devises. I have one in my closet next to the Airport Extreme for all the switches upstairs in my house, and then ran another long Ethernet Cable downstairs for my Apple TV, PS4, TV and other peripherals. (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00K4DS5KU?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00 )

    Just wondering if anyone has any ideas and should I even into fixing the wired connections?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    What was the kind of Ethernet cable were you using? CAT 5e or CAT6?
     
  3. thomamon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
  4. thomamon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
  5. thomamon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #5
    Yes, 5e
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    Is the hardwired network plugged into the airport or the existing router?
     
  7. thomamon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #7
    So this is the run down. I have a short ethernet wire going from the Cable Modem to the Airport Extreme. Then I have another ethernet wire going from the airport to the hub. So I decided to check out ports on both the Airport and the hub using the wired connection on my MBP. No issues on speed right out of the Airport using the wire I have on the MBP and no issues using the same wire out of the hub.

    So now I started testing other connections through out the house, some are getting full speed and some are only getting 40-50mb download. So my guess is either some wires are old or bad?

    What do you think?
     
  8. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #8
    More than possible. A bad termination or a kink in a wire and it'll slow the connection. Even dust in the Ethernet port can have an effect.
     
  9. thomamon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #9
    So listen to this. I rewired to my basement. Used a Cat7 cable with gold connectors and the correct speed is now being seen on my wired devices in my basement.

    But here is the kicker...

    My new Apple TV downstairs is only getting about 100Mbps download. The one upstairs is getting 150+.wirelessly. The one downstairs wirelessly is only getting about 50 down. I haven't had the chance yet but I plan on switching them out later and seeing if the one that gets the fast speed upstairs would get it downstairs because everything else is getting the 150+ downstairs accept for the Apple TV.

    But if I am being honest, how can I complain about a 100Mbps downstairs when nothing probably uses that anyway, lol.

    Any thoughts?
     
  10. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #10
    The Apple TV only has a 10/100 Ethernet port mate so your fine
     

Share This Page