Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

amitdoc2b

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 25, 2008
Has anyone used these for their Macbook Air? I have a 13" 2011 MBA. Do you feel a bit of friction when you open the lid? I feel like the black hinge that allows you to open the laptop (which is where the invisible bottom latch for the hardshell case is), comes in the way and causes some friction when opening the laptop.. I'm afraid this will damage the laptop. Are you having the same experience? Otherwise its a beautiful looking case...

falterego

macrumors 6502
Dec 28, 2008
Southern California
Just saw this thread and was looking at the same case. Any luck figuring out what was causing this? I'm a fan of my speck sleeve for when I just have the laptop, but when I travel I'd like to have a case to carry it in my bag rather than this bulky padded sleeve. (yes, I said bulky and sleeve in the same sentence. wanna fight about it?)

PodPacker

macrumors regular
Oct 23, 2006
Cases

I can say one thing about the perforated case. It really doesn't improve heat dissipation much more than the standard cases. I don't use it anymore and I have yet to bang up, scuff or otherwise damage the exterior of my MBa. I would suggest a nice sleeve that you can use for transporting if you don't want to use a bag, backpack or case. Also, if you insist on buying one of these, get it from TekServe, they have the lowest price I've seen.

TyroneShoes2

macrumors regular
Aug 17, 2011
I have always differed from Jon Ive regarding the slickness of Apple products. They look terrific, but every item feels like a bar of soap that is about to squirt out of my hands. Every iPod (except the recent shuffle), iPad, and iPhone I have owned has needed a case of some kind.