Issue with FaceTime not activating, is it due to no SIM card

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dglenn9000, May 22, 2016.

  1. dglenn9000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #1
    I have an old iPhone my mother wants to use for wifi calling on FaceTime at home. I noticed it says it is activataring for the last few days. I have tried many things I found on Google. I have reset, restarted, turned FaceTime on and off. Most website are referencing an older iOS. Before I spend a lot of time on this I want to know if a SIM card is required for FaceTime activation? I do not want to put in my SIM card because I can't uncheck my phone number from FaceTime and dont want two devices with the same phone number.

    I have restored the phone and setup with a new Apple ID/iCloud account. Not sure what else I can do. Any thoughts.

    Thanks
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You cannot use a phone number for facetime or activate facetime without that sim card with that particular phone number inside the phone. The second you remove that sim you will not get any facetime calls coming in.
     
  3. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #3

    My niece uses my old iPhone 4 that doesn't have a Sim card in it - she uses it like an iPod Touch. She regularly uses FaceTime which has been activated with her Apple ID.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    That last part you mentioned is the key.
    You cannot use a phone number without a sim inside.
    But you can setup an apple ID and use that email address instead to make and receive facetime calls;)
     
  5. RedOrchestra, May 22, 2016
    Last edited: May 22, 2016

    RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #5

    It doesn't matter if you have a Sim card or not - You can only set up FaceTime with an Apple ID.

    Which is the same as iMessage - you can't use iMessage unless you have an Apple ID.
    --- Post Merged, May 22, 2016 ---
    When you say restored what do you mean, restored from where or what?
     
  6. Applejuiced, May 22, 2016
    Last edited: May 22, 2016

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    That's false.
    You can setup iMessage and Facetime using your cell phone's phone number.
    You dont have to have an Apple ID.
    Talking about iphones here obviously according to the thread topic and question.
     
  7. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #7

    You're dead wrong, on both counts.
     
  8. Applejuiced, May 22, 2016
    Last edited: May 22, 2016

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    That's funny, I use my phone number for both imessage and facetime for years.
    I dont use an apple ID.
    And I'm not "dead wrong"
    You're the one that is wrong.
    Research and learn what you're talking about before you start giving false answers and acting like you know;)

    Restored meaning plugging the iphone to itunes and hitting "restore".
     
  9. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #9
  10. Applejuiced, May 22, 2016
    Last edited: May 22, 2016

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    You do not need an apple ID to setup facetime or imessage using your cellphone number.
    Read the link that you finally went to research a little. Or test it out yourself.

    If you have an iPhone, you can use your phone number for iMessage and FaceTime


    Isn't that the part you were saying I was "dead wrong" about?:D

    BTW the link you're point it is about :
    Add or remove your phone number to iMessage or FaceTime on your Mac, iPad, and iPod touch.

    That's why it tells you to sign in to your apple id.
    In order to add or remove your phone number from a Mac, ipad or ipod touch.
    Again to setup imessage and facetime on an iphone you DO NOT need an apple ID. You can use your phone number.
    Get it?
     
  11. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #11
    I guess they no longer teach the importance of comprehension in school ... shame really.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    It's a comprehension issue when you're posting wrong information?:D
    And now you try to back peddle? lol
     

Share This Page