Issue with firewire port

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jamiet, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. jamiet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a new MacBook Pro 13 inch and I am having trouble with the firewire port. I have exhausted all avenues with my hardware and cables so I can only put it down to the port.

    My piece of hardware, an audio interface called an MBox Pro, loses most of its led's and some of their functions when my computer loads. Before it is loaded, or when it is off, this unit works fine. I can only describe it as partially powering my hardware.

    If anyone at all could provide some advice it would be most appreciated. Also, how would I go about getting it checked, repaired or replaced? Yikes!

    Thank you for your time and consideration.

    Jamie
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #2
    @jamiet:

    You need probably an additional power supply, because the FireWire port cannnot supply enough power.
     
  3. jamiet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #3
    sorry i forgot to mention it is a mains powered hardware device...
     
  4. juzmacman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    #4
    Any chance it works via USB or is it FireWire only?
    Have you checked the firewire port for dirt, junk, bent connectors etc?
    Have you tried using another FireWire cable?
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    or try borrowing a firewire HDD and see if it works.
     

Share This Page