Issue with installing FRED data (excel 2016)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by BallparkDreamer, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. BallparkDreamer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #1
    I'm trying to install an add-in on my macbook, and I am able to upload the add-in but can't access the data. The add-in doesn't appear, and I receive this message:

    Run-time error '-2147467259 (80004005)':

    Method 'Top' of object 'CommandBar' failed

    Does anyone know why? :(
     
  2. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #3
    Give up on the Add In in 2016, the dev never moved it past beta and it only works in 32-bit version 2011. The Mac version was deprecated and it's no longer developed or supported. In grahamperrin's first link you'll see that Excel 2016 has a bug related to how this add in works, on both OS platforms and not just in v. 2016.

    FWIW, the dev IMHO has pretty much stopped supporting desktop apps and has moved on to the iOS platforms - with all of the proxy, firewall, permissions issues on the desktop to get at that data I can see why they'd not want to deal with Excel on the desktop. I use my Air 2 to get at the FRED data, I moved on and that's my recommendation to you. You could also get your hands on 2011 and use that version of Excel, but no guarantees...
     
  3. BallparkDreamer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #4
    Ah, dang. I do have the app on my iPad, so it looks like I'll be using that from now on. Thanks!
     
  4. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #5
    FWIW, we do keep a 32-bit copy of Excel 2013 around just for this app on a desktop PC. It's a bit of a PITA as we have to manage permissions and data access (from the remote sources). The dev did indicate that they've "fixed" the 64-bit addressing issue a few years ago but it's just not working as I'd hoped - it's working fine on our iPads, tho', hence my pushed recommendation - and AirPrint really makes this workaround "solution" a tenable option for me. Cheers!
     

Share This Page