Issue with loading Facebook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by larold, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. larold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys,

    This seems like a minor issue and I probably wouldn't even bother to sort it out if I hadn't used a one click facebook login thing for hundreds of forums and sites etc...

    Just got a new (2nd hand Imac) and facebook isn't loading at all, seems to be some sort of block on it. Works on my other computer and phone on the same network so seems like a computer issue. Had a quick look about and someone else seemed to have a similar issue that they sorted being talked through editing files using Terminal. I'm not about to go diving in willy nilly with that myself, so can anyone help? Would be really handy if I could get it working!

    Cheers,
     
  2. supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #2
    Since the computer is second hand, have you erased the hard drive and re-installed the OS? If you computer was already setup from the previous owner, then the previous owner might have put a block in place that would prevent access to Facebook. If you don't want or don't require anything that is currently installed on the computer then I suggest that you preform a clean install using the recovery partition or internet recovery, assuming that your iMac is from 2011 or later of course. If the iMac is older then 2011 or you know that it shipped with Snow Leopard and not Lion then chances are that it wont have a recovery partition and wont be able to boot using internet recovery in which case you will need the original recovery media or create an install USB using the latest version of Mac OS X downloaded from the App Store. For instructions on creating an install USB see here: Create a bootable installer for OS X - Apple Support
     
  3. larold thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    #3
    Sorry managed to miss your reply there... I haven't but I was told it had been done before I got hold of it. I'm on osx but would rather not do a full re-install if I can help it. It makes sense that it was blocked as it came out of a college, is there any way around the block apart from a complete re-install?
     
  4. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #4
    It depends on what the school did to the Mac before they sold it to you. The easiest and safest route would be to perform a complete reinstall.
     

Share This Page