Issue With MacBook Wireless

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by InfernoUk, Apr 5, 2009.

  1. InfernoUk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    hey guys i have had an issue with my macbook recently where i am connected to the router but my internet does not work, it works in other locations except fro my home. it works wirelessly and my iphone and other wireless devices are all fine its just the macbook, any ideas as i am lost on this one.

    thanks for your time i really need to fix this
    InfernoUk
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Create a new location in the Network preference pane and or power cycle the modem and router. I'm assuming it's something to do with your setup and configuration since you're able to gain access in other locations.
     
  3. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #3
    those steps did not work sorry

    also software update never works cable or wireless if thats related or helps
     
  4. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #4
    Hmm...usually we can isolate a problem but in your case, we still don't know whether it's your MacBook or home network. MacBook will work on other networks but not home but at the same time other devices can gain access to your home network?

    What is the IP your MacBook is stating?
     
  5. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    where abouts would i find the ip? also the other networks use Proxies i enable through firefox etc, these however are disabled when at home but possibly the clash somwhere? update dosent work on that network either
     
  6. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #6
    note im on ethernet, ip is:

    192.168.11.14

    i think wireless is auto sign or something im not sure without details of where to find it
     
  7. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    Do me a favor and run Network Diagnosis from the Network preference pane (System Preferences>Network>Assist Me>Diagnosis). Note your results and post them.
     
  8. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #8
    when running them for the airport connection it resulted in 'cannot fix this problem'

    as i said it connects to the router just fine but no further
     
  9. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #9
    Try using the AirPort in a new user and let me know if that works.
     
  10. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    #10
    Odds are its your router since it works alright everywhere else.
     
  11. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #11
    yes but everything else works with the router, 5 other pcs/laptops and phones so it cant be the router??
     
  12. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #12
    It could be but other wifi capable device works just fine except for his MacBook.
     
  13. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  14. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #14
    Do the following:

    1. Turn AirPort off
    2. Navigate to "Macintosh HD\Library\Preferences\SystemConfiguration
    3. Click and drag the files: "com.apple.airport.preferences.plist" and "preferences.plist" to the trash. Make sure that you have removed both files completely.
    4. Restart computer and try to connect using AirPort (make sure ethernet is not connected)
     
  15. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #15
    that didnt fix the wireless issue but it did fix the software update strangely
     
  16. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #16
    1. Go to Spotlight, type and select Network Utility.
    2. Click on the "Ping" tab and type in www.google.com and then click ping

    Post what your results are.
     
  17. InfernoUk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #17
    on the airport connection

    Ping has started ...

    ping: cannot resolve google.co.uk: Unknown host




    on wired it was fine

    edit: i have to go offline now ill check back tomorro and see if anyone else is abe to contribute i just dont understand this atall.
     
  18. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #18
    Weird how Software Update works...did you restart the computer after deleting the two .plist files? If not, restart and then connect with AirPort again and go to 199.181.132.250 in Safari, hopefully you'll load www.go.com (use the IP address)
     

Share This Page