Issue with repairing SSD with Disk Utility

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Clown, Jul 4, 2015.

  1. Clown macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #1
    Hello guys!

    I have MacBook Pro Mid 2009, "15, 2.8 Duo Core with Kingston SSDNow v300 240GB SSD.
    I ran a verify task with Apple built-in Disk Utility and got a message tell me that my SSD needs to get repaired using Recovery HD (command + R after restart).
    So, I did so - I entered to the Disk Utility menu after restarting my MacBook Pro, run a verify task, and guess what? It said that everything looks cool and I don't need to run a repair.
    So I restarted back to my SSD Macintosh HD, ran again a task with Disk Utility and is still says that I need to repair my SSD again.

    This is the error I get:
    I use Trim Enabler app. I thought this may be the reason for this error.
    So I deleted it, enabled back kext singing.
    It didn't help...

    What can I do? :confused:
     
  2. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    Look up the Kingston v300 bait-and-switch to using slower and cheaper NAND: http://www.anandtech.com/show/7763/an-update-to-kingston-ssdnow-v300-a-switch-to-slower-micron-nand and http://www.extremetech.com/extreme/...itching-cheaper-components-after-good-reviews

    Trash it and get a decent SSD from a more reputable brand like Crucial.
     
  4. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #4
    My bad. OS X Yosemite 10.10.4.
     
  5. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #5
    10.10.4 has newly enabled Trim support for third party SSDs. Try ...

    sudo trimforce enable

    in Terminal and see if the errors persist. It probably won't fix the issue but it's worth a try.
     
  6. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #6
    Okay, I did so and now my MBP won't load my SSD.
    When it did a restart after applying this command, I see Grey not sign-in symbol.
    How can I disable this command?
     
  7. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #7
    Same command, just type disable instead of enable.
     
  8. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #8
    How can I access Terminal again?
    Comman + R shows the same Grey sign.
     
  9. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #9
    I'm not sure what you're referring to. What happens when you let the computer boot up? In any case, this thread on TrimForce may help.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Likely your only choice now is to reinstall OS X. That will reset the kext settings that you probably forgot before you removed the trim enabler app.
    This is one of those times when you will be glad that you created a bootable USB stick with your current OS X installer...
    If your MBPro was newer (2010 or later), you would be able to boot to Apple's servers, and use Internet Recovery to reinstall. Your's is too old for that.
     
  11. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #11
    Thank you so much! It actually worked for me.

    Can you please tell me what should I check before doing again trimforce, without make
    any damage?

    I guess I don't have to. :cool:
     
  12. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #12
    You're welcome, glad you got it sorted. Cheers.
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Do you happen to have FileVault encryption turned on? I have seen this error before and to fix it you need to turn off FileVault and wait for it to unencrypt, then use DU from recovery to make the repair.
     
  14. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #14
    Can you please tell me what should I check before doing again trimforce, without make
    any damage?

    I do have FileVault encryption enabled on my OS X.
    I will try it later and will let you know if it worked.
     
  15. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #15
    I've only tried it and had no issues myself, so I wouldn't really be able to. That thread that I linked seems to be a really good information source for this new feature - so beyond reiterating anything stated in there, I wouldn't have anything different to say. It's all new and still in sort of a "testing" phase.
     
  16. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    Actually, you don't need to goto all that trouble! You just need to provide the decryption password to the recovery utilities. They don't have access to the decryption password.

    When you get into the recovery tools Disk Utility select the drive on your Mac, choose mount and it will ask for the password to decrypt it. Once you do that you can run the normal repair disk. Thus no need to wait hours to disable and then reenable FileVault.
     
  17. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17
    When this happened to me, just mounting and unlocking did not do the trick. I ended having to unencrypt. Sure worth a try though.
     
  18. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #18
    I have started already the decryption proccess, and it seems like it going to take hours.
    Any ways to disable the proccess? I want to give a try to TheIguana method.
     
  19. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
    Once it has begun, you are committed. Stopping it could lead to data loss. Sorry bud.
     
  20. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #20
    It sounds like my wife.

    Just kidding. I'm single :)
     
  21. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    Well played sir. :D

    Let us know how it works out.
     
  22. Clown thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #22
    TheIguana method actually worked!
    The decryption process took too long so I shot down the machine.
    Got into recovery mode, unlocked the encrypted SSD, ran a verify
    check and it did find the errors and ask me to fix them.

    I want to thank all of you for commend and help!
    Have a nice week.
     

Share This Page