Issue with with having only certain apps use cellular data

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by the8thark, Dec 27, 2014.

  1. the8thark macrumors 68040

    the8thark

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #1
    I have a new iPhone. Well new to me, it's an iPhone 5 (iOS8). Hand me down basically. I've got it all set up just fine. But I came across one issue. I only want a select few apps to use cellular 3G/4G data and the rest to be Wifi only. I looked up an Apple help article on the issue and this:
    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201299

    That looks great but one catch, my iPhone only has 3 apps under "use cellular data for".
    • Facetime
    • Mail
    • Passbook

    This is very strange. It's not even showing the apps you can not delete like music. This is very strange indeed. I want to set the phone up so I can have a few (2-3) apps I download to use cellular data and the rest 100% wi-fi only. But I can not do this as these apps are not showing up in the callular settings on the iPhone.

    Does anyone know if anything can be done about this to help to find a solution to this issue.

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. PsyOpWarlord macrumors 6502

    PsyOpWarlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    Mine shows every app on my phone under the Use "Cellular Data For" .. If your apps are not showing I would first try just rebooting the phone. If that doesn't work, try restoring the phone, setting up as a new device and not using a backup. Install all the apps fresh.
     
  3. the8thark thread starter macrumors 68040

    the8thark

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #3
    I just spend all day installing the apps yesterday. Most of them I already owned (used iPhone versions on my iPad) so I just downloaded them. I'd rather not have to do that again and use all that bandwidth to download them again.

    I reset the phone and that didn't do anything. I'll look into seeing if anyone else has had the issue before I redownload GB of data. I'll try the redownloading all the apps and resetting the phone but as a last resort only. Thanks for your help though.

    If anyone else has an opinion on this feel free to contribute as I'd really like this issue sorted out.
     
  4. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    So a quick google turned up this thread.

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/19783647/app-does-not-appear-under-cellular-data-ios7

    Not sure if this is relevant, but it's the best I could find.

    So I guess you need to get on 4g, individually load all your apps, then toggle them from the mobile data settings?
     
  5. the8thark thread starter macrumors 68040

    the8thark

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #5
    So maybe the apps will only show up there once they try to use cellular data. That does make sense. I'd rather them all be there initially though. But I will test this and get back to you on it.

    Hope this works and thanks for the information.
     

Share This Page