Issue

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by threeg5, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. threeg5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #1
    I get a text the other day telling me that I have used too much data and that I am to have my data suspended as of Feb.

    My phone has always said att E it now says off network E
    I frequently am in a 3g area which i use regularly for all of what the iPhone is made for. DATA!!
    my neighbors phone still says att E
    they say I have used more then the allotted 25 mb in offnetwork area.

    However when i called (from the 3g area) they said they were not sure why i recieved that message
    I then waited till I arrived back at home and called again to which they say I am in an out of network area.
    My neighbor was on the phone with them at the same time and they assured him he was in an ATT serviceable area as they were at the same moment telling me that I was not.
    I was told there is no way to tell whether I have used my data via data via Edge (2g) or if it was used via 3g after it was used.
    I was told that what I was using was data roaming however they could not tell me how much data i had used on 3g service?
    Why not?

    they would let me out of my contract with no fees blah blah

    For 1 year now I have had 6 phones on my plan 3 iPhones 3 unlimited data plans all unlimited talk and text.

    i am just now receiving this message?
    My bill exceeds $600 a month and I have no problems with paying that as we all very much enjoy our phones and the service that we have become accustomed to having and using even though at times it is a bit "draggy" or sluggish becuase of 2g or Edge service. how do I know because after i was sole my phones i called about the speed and was told why it was like this.

    and now for the fun part of this.
    I am a prominent person in my town (which is small) after going through these issues I called back and did not give my number but gave my name and position in my town. I was told of all of this ahead of time to which i they still tried to sell me just said that I may incur charges from time to time for data usage.
    and then I gave them my number and asked them to look at my account at which point i was immediately disconnected with the CSR. that literally made me laugh aloud
    I called back and got through to the same REGIONAL SUPERVISOR and she informed me they are having issues with their land line phone system and calls had been dropped on and off all day. and then it went out again.

    I havent called back yet as I have been advised not to by the attorney but i just find it all a bit amusing take it for what you want .

    Yes huge knock on all of ATT from the top down. customer service and management.

    Good day
    3g5
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Kudos on the descriptive thread title.
    Sounds like the network is insufficient for you, customer service or not. Time to switch if you can.

    You sure don't come off as someone who would be considered a "prominent person" in your town. Is the town by chance Harmony CA? I've driven by and even once stopped in the town. It would make more sense if that is where you're from.
     
  3. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #3
    I would try calling customer service again, and maybe going to an AT&T store. If they are willing to let you out of your contract without a fee you might want to try Verizon or T-Mobile. You would have to buy a new phone to use Verizon, but you may be able to unlock your current phones to use with T-Mobile.
     
  4. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #4

    Maybe you should tell them your name, I'm sure a lot of people with important positions in small towns have been able to work something out using their credentials.
     
  5. vachargerfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #5
    $600 a month? I would switch in a heartbeat. But question. If they are letting you out of your contract, why do you have an attorney? Just move to another carrier since they will let you out for free
     
  6. jacollins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #6
    I've not heard of these types of texts going out. Any confirmation? At this point, I'm assuming the guy's a troll.
     
  7. threeg5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #7
    You never heard of the fellow that tried to use the hair dryer in the shower either but, you know he did otherwise they wouldn't have the warning.;)

    you never heard that the answer to 4+4 was 8 until someone told you either!:p
    [​IMG]

    As far as prominent person in my town. :DHaha funny how when you aren't stereotypical of what someone would expect its just not the same.
    See simply because I am someone that has come on a forum and posted something. I was
    • Discredited:eek:
    • Ridiculed:eek:
    • and called a troll:eek:

    So I am not bashing you for it just trying to understand what that was for?
    Apparently I am unwelcomed here? :confused:

    i wonder what would have happened had I not made that statement?:rolleyes:

    3g5
     
  8. vachargerfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #8
    Are you by chance close to another countries border? Like Canada or Mexico? You might be jumping onto one of their cell towers and using it instead of yours. Could be why you got that message
     
  9. threeg5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #9
    If I were to do that then I would be using my Stature to gain personal satisfaction.


    that would be like the president asking for something because he is the president. He was assigned/elected to a task.of course there are perks but, I could care about those perks I want it to be equal for all in my town.
    I dont ask to be treated unlike those that are not.
    If I get pulled over for speeding I expect to get a speeding ticket just like most people would.

    You have mistaken me for someone possibly like yourself that would use their "power" in a abuseful manner.

    understand that because of people that think that that should be done is why their are people that do those things

    "All it takes for a bad guy to triumph, is for a good guy to do nothing!"

    3g5

    Again not meaning to sound as though I am bashing just simply asking why those should expect these things from others.
    Quite possibly could be a case of takes one to think like that in order for it to be allowed?

    try not allowing it the next time you see it happening. Why is it fair that someone else get that treatment and not you?

    so again my apologies for going so far off subject which originally started out with the thought that there had been others with this same issue.
    Everyone seems to be under the impression that the best thing to do would be simply to give up. I do not understand that?

    OK so has anyone else encountered the same issue?
    If so what have they dont about it?
     
  10. threeg5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #10
    I am not.
    I am in a "deep south state.":cool:

    The issue is that when you use your data in a 3g area and then travel into a "non ATT data area" it sees it as all you have used (data) is on the roaming area.

    the above is only true if you are in that roaming area for longer then about 24hours.

    Now of course right now my phone says offnetwork. when my cycle bill date comes around and everything "resets" it says ATT E
    as my cycle came around and it did that while in a roaming area. I traveled to a 3g area and upon re-entering the roaming area it went to offnetwork.



    3g5;)
     
  11. threeg5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #11
    I have paid $1200 for 3 iphone 4's (did not use upgrade so that I can keep the unlimited data packages on plans), $400 for 3 Blackberrys (which don't have this issue btw) and have unlimited everything on all of my lines.

    So by going with Verizon (so that I can keep my same services), I would need to purchase all new phones that can be used on their network.

    I have representation so that this can stop they are gouging and manipulating rules to their advantage.

    Now if ATT is willing to repurchase or buy me new phones and let me out of contract then I'm out but they have said they are not in the phone trading industry they told me this at the ATT store as they were upgrading a phone!
    Of course I said they were right but, I reminded them that they were in a customer service industry.

    am i making since?

    3g5
     
  12. Weiser878 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #12
    Well, that was a mistake. You could have used your upgrade and still kept your unlimited data. I did.
    Switching to a tiered plan was only for NEW customers


    No, but you're making SENSE
     
  13. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #13
    I cannot believe they would treat the Mayor like this?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Sounds like you're using roaming data and they dont like that cause you're probably causing them to pay money to that roaming partner.
    Since they're letting you go without paying the ETF I'd cancell and switch providers.
    Sell the iphone 4's and blackberrys and you'll make more than enough to pay for your new phones.
     
  15. GT NFR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    You'd be surprised:D
     
  17. threeg5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #17
    Mayor no but, I'll take it.

    My apology on the since instead of sense comment.

    Ain't nobody perfect.

    Have a great time all,
    may everything work out exactly the way it is suppose to!
     
  18. Interstella5555, Jan 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011

    Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #18
    ok...so what were you doing here?

    Calling them up and say "Hey, this is the Comptroller from Suede Falls, RI calling for a constituent."? Either way, by stating your position as if it mattered to the situation and should somehow entitle you to better service is attempting to use your position in an influential manner. Also, don't assume that you know me or how I use my "power," believe me, it's not on the phone talking to a CS rep. I was more sarcastically referring to what you had said in the OP, if you weren't trying to get special treatment why does it matter what you do in whatever town you're from?
     
  19. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #19
    You'd think he'd read how to post a thread title when he posted the title.
     

Share This Page