Issues installing windows MP 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cw48494, Sep 18, 2015.

  1. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #1
    Unable to install, is there some sort of work-around I'm missing?

    Windows 7 64bit
     
  2. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    Yes, with so little info in your post I'm going to guess you need to make a slipstreamed disc with Some files removed.

    I had a post about this a few years ago. Google is your friend
     
  4. cw48494 thread starter macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #4
    Won't allow me to install; I forget the exact error it gives me, but upon trying to install - I format the destination drive at the windows install screen which is all fine and dandy but won't let me continue and throws me error code. I can pull up the error if it's necessary.

    Not using an OEM disk if that's what you're trying to imply, I will google nonetheless.
     
  5. cw48494 thread starter macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #6
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    this is exactly the sort of place that having EFI is helpful. I have seen some USB sticks not show up as options in System Profiler but show up on boot picker screen.

    I guess try and see, nothing to lose by trying.

    In my Windows 8 box I keep a burned copy of the Mac Pro 1,1 Win 8 installer. Once you go to the trouble, keep a copy handy.
     
  7. Twimfy macrumors 6502a

    Twimfy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Which drive bay are you trying to install to? If it's a separate hard drive then Windows often won't let you install unless it's in the first position of the SATA array.
     
  8. cw48494 thread starter macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #9
    Probably the exact problem I'm running into; I'll throw the destination drive into first sata bay and report back.
     
  9. orph, Sep 19, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2015

    orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I have win 7 on a dedicated drive (ie not shared drive with osx) last time i installed i had to pull (ie remove from my mac pro) all the drives apart from the destination drive for windows then install.
    once it was installed + drivers etc shut down and plugged all the old drives back in.
    works fine use bootchamp to switch between osx and windows

    some more info is help full, are you installing on to the same HD as osx or a dedicated drive, do you have the correct bootcamp drivers, how many drives do you have, is it going on the to one of the 4 normal bays or are you using a esata link from the motherboard ? etc

    forgot to ask at what point is it failing to install ?


    ps quick google found this http://www.videograndpa.com/?p=2628
     

Share This Page