Issues restoring 4s from 3G backup

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Subirex11, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. Subirex11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I been having a bit of a nightmare on this and am hoping you guys can help.

    I originally set up my 4s as a new phone to play around with it for a few. Once everything looked good, I wanted to back everything up from my 3g to the 4s. I must have made a mistake somewhere along the line and am wondering if I am the only one with this problem.

    When restoring from a 3g backup, the 4s seems to go through everything it needs to including app syncing, but on it's final restart it gets stuck in a loop.

    Apple sign, flash of the restore completed screen, and then the little restart circle, then over and over. It never stops until I restore the 4s back to the factory settings.

    Could it be because the 3G is ios 4.2.1 and the 4S is ios 5?

    The apps are fine, I just want the notes, calendar, and contacts from the 3G.
     
  2. Subirex11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #2
    Ok, looks like that's my problem now that my buddy brought up the os differences, the 3G can't be updated to ios 5, so I am trying to restore the 4s, an iOS 5 phone, from a iOS 4.2.1 backup.

    With that said, is the only other option for syncing contacts Outlook, Google, or Yahoo? My yahoo contacts undertaking didn't go too well but I may try again.

    Will any of these contact itermediaries keep multiple numbers like I have for certain contacts?
     
  3. InternetDude08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    #3
    I was able to set up my new iPhone 4S using a restore from my 3G. I had no problems at all. Perhaps the problem happened because you set it up as a new phone initially? I set up my 4S as a restore right from the start.
     
  4. Subirex11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #4
    Maybe, but even when I restore the 4s to factory settings, and try to restore from the 3G again, it gets me that loop. Such a bummer.

    Did all of your contacts stick when you restored from the 3G?
     
  5. Dreamre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #5
    Bump!

    Did you find a solution?

    I have the EXACT issue and it's so frustrating...
     
  6. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Is 4.2.1 the latest 3G firmware? If not, it may not be compatible with iOS5. The latest iOS4 build should restore fine.
     

Share This Page