Issues trying to read a Windows formatted disk

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by ghall, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    So I'm trying to get some data off my girlfriend's Dell laptop that hasn't been working for a while. The hard drive seems to be physically working just fine, but for some reason my MacBook Pro cannot read the disk, and I keep getting this error message.
    [​IMG]Click for large view - Uploaded with Skitch

    The disk shows up fine in Disk Utility but there are no volumes showing up beneath the drive.
    [​IMG]Click for large view - Uploaded with Skitch

    Any ideas on how I can get the data off this drive? Reformatting isn't an option because she needs to get the data off the drive. Thanks.
     
  2. rowley, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011

    rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    How did you format the disk? What version of Windows? what format would the partition be in?
    Can you plug it into another computer to see?
    Mac can happily read NTFS and FAT without a problem.
     
  3. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    I was assuming it was formatted in NTFS. It's most likely the factory default format, which could very well be WFS.
     
  4. rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
  5. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    Maybe. She needed a password to get on the computer but I assumed it was just for her user account. Uh oh... :eek:
     
  6. rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Still got the Dell?
    Otherwise there is nothing that can be done here.
     
  7. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Yes. We still have it but it doesn't boot. I think the logic board is fried or something.
     
  8. rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I'm not sure how you can continue, unless you have another pc to plug it into.
     

Share This Page