Issues with Applecare. Anyone had simlar issues?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by EskimoHigh, Apr 22, 2010.

1. EskimoHigh macrumors newbie

I've been getting a lot of fan noise from my 24" iMac for the past couple of weeks so decided last tuesday to call Applecare and arrange a repair. I was advised that someone would be in touch with me within 2 days to arrange an onsite repair.

When Friday came round and still no contact, I called again and was advised that my case was being escalated and that I'd be called on Monday at the latest with details of when my on site repair would be carried out.

Come Tuesday and still no call backs I had to once again call Applecare and was once again told that my case would be investigated and that they would have an answer as to when someone would be out to collect my iMac. Now I'm no expert but surely the phrase "on site repair" means that someone will be out to repair the iMac at my house and not take it away unless necessary. I eventually did get my call back and was told that due to an ongoing dispute with the 3rd party company that they use for repairs, no one would be out to collect the iMac for repair and that I'd be best to arrange an appointment at my closest Apple Store.

I took the Mac in today and was told that I would get it back next tuesday. Im not too happy about this but at least it'll be fixed. My main issue is that this has taken over a week to even begin the repair process and cost me petrol money for the 1st of 2 50 mile round trips to get my problems fixed when this should have been taken care of with the Applecare that I purchased.

Has anyone had any similar issues and know of anything I can do to claim compensation for all the hassle I've been put through and the money I've spent on petrol?

2. EasyJW macrumors member

i've had nothing but goodness from applecare really. i guess its just good and bad luck[​IMG]

3. alent1234 macrumors 603