Issues with AVCHD Video and Aperture

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by teamrusnac, Aug 7, 2012.

1. teamrusnac macrumors newbie

Hey folks,

Here is my situation. I just purchased a Sony WX-150 camera that records HD video. I was testing it out this weekend at an air show and recorded several clips at 1920x1080/60i. The video looks super crisp and clear on the camera itself, however, when I imported all the files (photos and videos) into Aperture 3.3.2., the video looks like this when it is played and the camera is panning around a scene (see attached image).

If I open the file outside of Aperture and in Quicktime, it looks a lot better, but still not as crisp and clear as I would see it on the camera. Some of that affect is still seen, although very minimally.

I am pretty new to shooting videos and importing them on the computer so please help me understand this. I have read around and found out that Lion was not compatible with this file format before but Mountain Lion is. I am running a Mid 2010 Macbook pro with Intel i5 and 8GB of ram, Mountain Lion 10.8 and all the latest versions of Aperture and FCP.

Do I need to convert this file format to something else? I am getting ready for a trip to Hawaii and would really love to figure this out before I go there and end up with zero good videos! Please let me know. Much appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

Unfortunately, the Sony WX-150 is only able to record at 1080i60. There is absolutely no 60p or even 30p support.

You can do the following:

- sell the camera and get, say, the RX100. It's a much-much better camera with proper (60p) video.