Issues With Indesign

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by ptbogreenup, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. ptbogreenup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #1
    I'm having an issue with Indesign CS3 and hope somene can help. I have a document open and want to place an image to be a background. The image size should be fine. I draw my frame with rectangle frame tool, go to file, place and select the the image. When I place it in my frame, instead of filling up the full frame it appears as a tiny "thumbnail" type image in the upper left corner of the frame. I tried using other images and they all place fine, it's just this one. I've saved it has different file formats, reduced/increased the size, drew smaller and larger frames and nothing works. Any suggestions?
     
  2. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #2
    I've had strange things happen with placed images in InDesign CS2, but not this particular one.

    Your information so far suggests that the image is somehow to blame, as you say that other images place OK. May be worth posting some details of how the image was created etc.

    Otherwise, with Indesign I can only suggest trying Place before positioning (i.e. File>Place, select your image, then drag the tool to place it), and also try creating the frame and then dragging the image from the finder. No logical reason why these should produce a different result, but it sometimes happens.

    Oh, and may be worth checking and changing the Fitting settings, that may give a clue as to what's going on too; perhaps if you have Illustrator then try placing the image in that too, which may help narrow the issue down.
     
  3. nerdish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Fit the image to frame, if its all pixilated id say that the image size/dpi is too small.
     
  4. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #4
    Try dropping the image directly on to the pasteboard (rather than into a frame). It will drop in at 100%. Then you can resize it to fit your canvas.
     
  5. efxgraphx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    #5
    AGreed.... sounds like his print resolution is messed up. Normally when you bring a image into a oversized box it will resort to its original size. Can you check the size of the image to ensure its large enough for the space and set to 300 dpi?
     

Share This Page