Issues with reformatting / MPB freezing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Spencetacular, Jun 6, 2011.

1. Spencetacular macrumors newbie

Hi, I have a mid-2010 Macbook Pro.
    A few months ago, I noticed that my Mac was having some weird issues. If I let a program run too long, I'd get stuck in the program. It usually happens with Safari. So I can switch windows but it always says I'm in Safari so I can't actually do anything in any other program, even if I quit Safari (the window would just close but I would still be "stuck"). I tried zapping the PRAM and the MBP is faster now but the freezing issue persists.
    So I decided to reformat my laptop and now am worried since I've been using my laptop for a few months with this problem. If I restore using Time Machine, I'm going to lose the files ive downloaded or created recently if I go too far back, correct?
    Anyone else have any other suggestions to fix the freezing problem? I thought about reformatting then only pulling select files from Time Machine over so I don't accidentally copy over whatever is causing the freezing issue again.

thanks!

2. jenzjen macrumors 68000

This makes sense, clean install followed by a SMC and PRAM reset and then just use the laptop for a few days. If the problem is gone, start to copy back select files vs a TM restore.

3. Spencetacular thread starter macrumors newbie

for my own sanity can anyone tell me if what I said about going too far back is accurate? "If I restore using Time Machine, I'm going to lose the files ive downloaded or created recently if I go too far back, correct?"

I should have also mentioned that simply reinstalling snow leopard didn't work.

anyone else ever encounter this freezing problem?

4. broadsword macrumors newbie