Issues with RX 460 and HS 10.13.4

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by unxmaal, Mar 30, 2018.

  1. unxmaal, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018

    unxmaal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #1
    I'm probably doing this wrong.

    I swapped the stock ATI Radeon HD 5770 GPU for a RX 460. After several reboots, I put the stock GPU into slot 1, and added the RX 460 to another slot, to check for errors. At boot, the system was displaying a kernel panic message, then restarting.

    I'm aware that this card won't show the boot screens, but I'd thought this GPU was supported with 10.13.4. What's the next step for this?
     
  2. Susurs, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018

    Susurs macrumors 6502a

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #2
  3. unxmaal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #3
    Ouch! Well, I guess I'll be trying a Sapphire Pulse 570 next. :(
     
  4. whartung macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    #4
  5. namethisfile macrumors 65816

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #5
    What brand of RX 460 are you using?

    Do you have a monitor attached to both cards? Meaning, a monitor attached to the HD 5770 and another monitor to the RX 460? If not, try attaching a monitor to both cards. If, you only have one monitor, try attaching it to the HD 5770 on slot-1....

    I know from experience that you can run RX 460 and an HD 5770 together. But, in my setup, I had two monitors attached to each card.

    As posted in another thread (linked above by whartung)... My Gigabyte RX 460 in a Mac Pro 5,1 running 10.13.4 now has sleep working and works as before.... but with sleep working.
     
  6. unxmaal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #6
    This is a XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB.

    I tested with a monitor connected via HDMI to the 460, with the 460 in slot 1. I got no display and reboots. Blue LED on GPU lit up.

    I tested again, with the ATI Radeon HD 5770 is in slot 1, PCIe SSD is in slot 2, and 460 in slot 3. I had a monitor connected to the Radeon via MDP. I saw the kernel panic on the screen at boot.

    Is your 460 flashed to a specific firmware?
     
  7. namethisfile, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018

    namethisfile macrumors 65816

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #7
    No. It's non-flashed PC Gigabyte RX 460 4GB.

    Not sure why your PCI devices are configured that way.

    But, ideally, HD5770 should be in Slot 1; RX 460 in Slot 2 and PCIe SSD in Slot 4. Slot 3 would be blocked off by the double-height RX 460 card in Slot 2. Slot 1 is the bottom-most slot where there is room for double-height GPU....

    Try connecting your monitor to the HD 5770 in slot 1 as configured from above recommendation. See if that works. If, not, try to get a second monitor somehow and connect two monitors, one for each GPU (again, configured as above where HD 5770 is in x16 slot 1 and RX 460 is in the other x16 lane at slot 2)...

    UPDATE:

    Decided to pop in the HD 5770 in Slot 1 and the RX 460 in Slot 2. Connected monitor to the HD 5770 and it works on my end.

    screenshot_3.png

    Perhaps, it's an XFX/Gigabyte thing with the Gigabyte one being more reference version and the XFX card you have is not reference?
     
  8. unxmaal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #8
    I swapped my cards around to match your suggestion -- HD5770 = 1, 460 = 2, SSD = 4.

    I got the same kernel panic. I tried verbose mode, but the system crashed and rebooted too quickly to capture any info.

    Just to be sure, I downloaded the stock BIOS for this GPU, put the card in a Windows box, and flashed the GPU with the stock BIOS (it appeared to match what I already had). Same kernel panics.

    Maybe it's just a bad card.
     
  9. namethisfile macrumors 65816

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #9
    What do you mean by "the stock bios for this GPU?"

    I have never done the GPU bios flash. But, there are steps for it on this forum. But, the bios flash are usually for the Sapphire Pulse RX 480 Developer Edition card bios flashed to a different brand RX 580. But, this was prior to 10.13.4 where people had issues with sleep working and cosmetic issues of "About this Mac" GPU identification stuff.

    I haven't come across anyone who flashed an RX 460 GPU since there isn't an equivalent Mac Edition RX 460 GPU. There is the mobile Radeon Pro 460 and Radeon Pro 560.... But, again, it's a mobile GPU. So, flashing that bios to a desktop RX 460 might encounter discrepancies not present in RX 580 models.... But, I am not sure.

    But, to go back to "stock bios" thing... do you mean you flashed your XFX RX 460 bios to another RX 460 card's bios? If, so, which one? I know from anecdotal experience and from reading other people's experience that the Gigabyte RX 460 version seems to be the one that works OOB with the least, if not, zero issues. And, this is the one I have. The only issue was 10.13.2 Broke Sleep on RX Polaris cards, including RX 460 and RX 580's except for the Sapphire Pulse RX 580. That is why people flashed their RX 580 bios to match the Sapphire Pulse edition to regain sleep function. The sleep bug and cosmetic thing, though, has been rectified with the recent 10.13.4 update.

    Also, based on other people's post on here, the XFX version of RX 460 seems to be the one that is encountering the most issues. And, I think, this is also true for XFX RX 580 cards. Correct me if I'm wrong. So, your card is not bad or broken. Just not as compatible, I think. As for which brands? Not XFX. I think after perusing the forums that that is the brand that has the most issues with Mac Pro compatibility.... But, again, correct me if I'm wrong....
     
  10. unxmaal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #10
    I meant I got the XFX RX 460 from the bottom of this list and flashed it over whatever was on my card. I didn't notice any difference when I listed the card via ATIflash.exe. This was 'just in case'.
     
  11. namethisfile macrumors 65816

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #11
    Ok. So, you flashed your bios with the same bios?

    Anyway, not sure if this is why some RX 460 cards work in cMP 5,1 and some don't... but, I pulled a picture of what I think your card is based on the info you linked above and the Gigabyte model, which is the one I have and works.... And, the only difference I see are the physical PCI connectors on the cards. The Gigabyte model is hardwired as a x8 card and your card is hardwired with the full-length x16 connection.

    gb_xfx_rx_460_2.jpg
     

Share This Page