Issues with setting up a wireless network.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MK2FAC3, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. MK2FAC3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee
    #1
    Okay, here's the thing, I have a Belkin54g wireless router, and I am trying to set up a network.

    I have a MacBook Pro, and I am able to read the signal from my AirPort, but I want to set up a secure network, so my iPhone won't lose wifi when I am at my apartment.

    I would really like to know if I really do NEED the AirPort base station, or can I do it from what I have.

    Please let me know, this is getting lame having neighbors stealing my internet
     
  2. MK2FAC3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee
    #2
    Sorry if this sounds a little off, I was very distracted while posting, I just need to know what I should do.

    So if anything is unclear, ask and I will clarify

     
  3. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Did it come with any sort of documentation? I know my linksys router came with instructions for how to do it. You might check the Belkin website, they probably have a support article about it.
     
  4. MK2FAC3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee
    #4
    Thanks! So I don't don't need the base station, now I will further my venture

     
  5. MK2FAC3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee
    #5
    Okay, so I looked for any sort of documentation, nothing. The website claims to be Mac compatible, so I guess I just need direction on how to set up the network, I will do some research and post to kill the thread afterwards, if no one updates before the time I figure it out
    :apple:
     
  6. MK2FAC3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee
    #6
    Okay, so I got everything but how to set up the password, I guess I am doing something, going to try and figure that out now
     
  7. MK2FAC3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee
    #7
    Okay, I can't get it secure, anyone got any suggestions?
     
  8. MK2FAC3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Murfreesboro/Nashville, Tennessee

Share This Page