istat menus

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vmachiel, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    Hi,

    I've been using istat menus now for a while. I keep the cpu part in my menu bar which show my 4 graphs. Lately, my system has been crashing on me and it is always preceded by the second of the graphs being full al the way.
    Does anyone know what this graph represents?

    Thank you
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    It either represents CPU usage over time (history graph) or the current CPU usage, just look at the iStat Menu preferences and see, what you have set it to.

    [​IMG]

    You can also use Activity Monitor and even Console to look at past crashes.
     
  3. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #3
    What do you display those graphs for if you don't even know what they mean? Do you like the animations?
    The 4 graphs represent the load on the 4 logical cores. If one is full on threads takes as much performance as it can get or to put it differently one logical core is running full speed. That is not the cause of your crashes.
    Check activity monitor to see what process is causing it.
     
  4. vmachiel, Oct 20, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011

    vmachiel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #4
    I only have 2 cores and no hyper threading, so that is why I don't get why i see 4 graphs.

    And no, i don't just like the animations:)
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
  6. vmachiel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #6
    aaah so it does support hyper threading. I always thought only i7's did that. Thank you
     

Share This Page