iStatPro v. iStatMenus...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by NickZac, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #1
    What are your thoughts of how they compare? I am using iStatPro, and have been for a few years (thanks to this forum :) ). However, it seems whoever made iStatPro has died or something has happened to them in which they have not updated any of their stuff in years. I am running 10.7 and currently have iStatPro that has been pulled from being a widget to sitting in the actual homescreen (using the break Widget command or whatever...forgot exactly how I did it). I ask as iStatPro and my Lion don't seem to like each other that much. Are there other options? I don't mind paying $16 for iStatMenu but I'd like to hear from people that have both regarding how they compare, or how others compare to both. Any input is appreciated. Thanks

    Edit: I just realized the two are made by the same maker. I feel like an idiot. Thoughts are still appreciated :p
     
  2. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #2
    I can tell you that iStat Menus works fantastic in Lion and has new features that were not configurable to the same detail in iStat Pro. It resides permanently in my menu bar, and paying $16 to have peace of mind at a glance 365 days a year is well worth it.;)
     
  3. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #3
    I have to totally agree with this. I have both and by far I get the most usefulness out of iStat Menus. Having the info I want and need at a quick glance in the menu bar is priceless to me and couldn't imagine using OS X without it. There are also a bunch of customizable options in the settings to make it tailored to your needs.
     
  4. martosprint macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I also have iStat menus 3 and it tells me everything that I have to know. I think it's a great little program to have. 
     
  5. HabSonic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    iStatMenus is annoying imo. I don't need to view my temperatures and my fan RPM all the time.
     
  6. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #6
    Then don't install it, or remove those two items from the display in the settings.
     
  7. f00f macrumors 65816

    f00f

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Yawk
    #7
    I wouldn't say it's annoying, but how often does anyone need to view this kind of information? This is really what is boils down to. Well, this, and how inconvenient it might be to press F12 or whatever key to bring up the dashboard. ;)

    I figure this kind of information is need-to-know when a problem is suspected, and totally superfluous otherwise. One uses a thermometer when they suspect they might have a fever; they don't run around 24/7 with a thermometer in their ass, constantly checking the temperature. But, to each their own.

    All that said, iStatMenus does look kinda sexy.
     
  8. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #8
    Lol not in this forum. I have never seen more people obsessed with heat and fan rpm then MBP owners here! I suspect for them that info is checked every ten min!!!
     
  9. HabSonic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    You seem mad.

    I did remove it and like I said, I can't recommend it. If you like it, go ahead and recommend it, but me (yes, me and only me), I can't.
     
  10. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #10
    I'm not mad. I just responded to your post that offered nothing to the thread with some additional info that might be useful to somebody else.
     
  11. NickZac thread starter macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #11
    Is the free and paid version of iStat Menus the same? I have dragged iStatPro to my desktop. Can I configure it so that unlike a jail broken widget, it does not override that real estate on the screen?
     

Share This Page