iStats Menu hasn't worked for months...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GWA123, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. GWA123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #1
    So here's my setup:

    late-2013 13" rMBP 2.4Ghz, 8GB RAM, etc.

    Running iStat Menus, if I fresh install it it will function for about 15 minutes. Then it stops pulling new data. The temps don't update, fan control doesn't work, etc. Any ideas? If I reset the SMC, it will function again for about 15 minutes after booting. Then it just stops... bjango support has no idea what's wrong. But it hasn't worked for a long long time.

    The intel power gadget pulls temps just fine though.

    Edit: I also see a ton of smcReadKeyAction errors in the console
     
  2. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #2
    You aren't running the trial version are you? That only lasts 14 days.


    Barney
     
  3. GWA123, Apr 29, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014

    GWA123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #3
    Nope. Full licensed version

    Although I'm experiencing no other symptoms, I think my logic board is messed up beyond a software glitch causing these issues. Reseting the SMC fixes it for about 15 minutes. But I have to keep resetting it.

     
  4. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #4
    I'm running the same rMBP as you and I have the full licensed version of iStat Menus and mine is working fine. I've never had a problem with it. So it may be a problem with your machine like you said.
     
  5. GWA123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #5
    Hmmm... What is weird is that my system works just fine. Fans spin up when needed, no other problems, etc. ADT reports no problems at all.
     
  6. p3ntyne macrumors 6502

    p3ntyne

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    Try downloading Menumeters. It is a free app similar to iStat.

    This should see if it is a problem with the machine or with iStat.
     
  7. happyfrappy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Location eh?
    #7
    Try removing iStat Menus, prefs, do a permissions verify/repair and reinstall. Lately some of the odd "issues" with other similar utilities have been related to Mavericks.

    The only problem I ever had with iStat is the last two security updates caused a permissions problem on a workstation(Mac mini) running Mavericks. Can't report on my notebook as I'm still running Mountain Lion for "work" duty.
     
  8. GWA123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #8
    It sounds like Apple doesn't really have a standard mechanism that is hardware independent to read SMC keys. Therefore, hardcoded offsets have to be coded for each OS version, SMC version, and hardware model.
     
  9. sanityinc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #9
    Same issue on my Macbook Air

    2012 Macbook Air, registered copy of iStat Menus. The menu extras disappeared on 11th April with the 4.21 update. No amount of install/reinstall fixes the issue, no response from Bjango support. Rolling back to the previous version with TimeMachine also didn't fix it. And I see the same smcReadKeyAction errors.

    Menumeters works fine, so it's definitely an iStat Menus issues.
     

Share This Page