It has finally arrived...and I have a minor question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ls10flpanyc, Jan 7, 2008.

1. ls10flpanyc macrumors newbie

I am now using my new Macbook, black, 1GB RAM (soon to be 4GB) 250GB HDD machine! I am so happy to no longer have to deal with that awful Sony Vaio, which gave me problems and it was barely four months old.

Anyway, my two questions are: I am a law student and need Windows to use my Mac for exams, so how hard is it to install Windows on the Macbook through Bootcamp, and where can I find a link to instructions? And would you recommend I get MS Office if I am going to be working with people who are mostly using MS Word rather than getting Pages, or will Pages be sufficient enough/easy enough to open and save Word documents?

I will admit that I did not do any research yet in regards to my first question (I am playing with all the new features my old Powerbook without Leopard did not have), but it would be helpful to get any input/advice from those who have dealt with installing Windows XP (I do NOT want vista) on their Mac, especially if there are things I should be aware of that wouldn't be readily obvious. Thanks a lot! I'm so glad to be back on a Mac, you have no idea.

2. philgilder macrumors 68000

well, boot camp assistant has instructions that can be printed out and are very detailed. basically, you put in the disc and osx reboots into the windows cd and its very easy
    make sure its 32 bit, 64 bit wont work
    (please note boot camp may not be installed by default, but it should be on the leopard disc)

pages can open .doc and .docx files, as well as more basic ones
    it can also export as .doc, and its very good, although not 100% prefect

there should be an iwork trial, see if it works for you, if not, but office (theres a new version out on jan 15th, but some packages bought at the moment have a free upgrade to office 2008)

3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil