"It just works better" ...Not happening Please Help with WIFI

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Canonman, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. Canonman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    It took me a lOOONG time but I finally bit the bullet and bought a macbook. So far so good, I will be giving it a memory upgrade in a few weeks but right now I could use some serious help.

    The computer won't connect to my Netgear WGR614 wifi router. I called Apple, they said the airport works and I may need a router firmware update. I updated the Netgear router. I have tried using the WEP, the WPA and also tried with the router set to zero security. The macbook still won't connect. Here is the kicker, my old windows based laptop and my wifes newer netbook picked up the new upgrade without issue.

    The macbook (I loaded all the macbook updates with hardwire) will go through the network diagnostics and end up being unable solve the problem.

    Any tips or clues???

    I am also considering buying a dLink router shown here:

    http://www.costco.com/Browse/Produc...lang=en-US&Sp=C&ec=BC-EC10625-Cat1333&topnav=
     
  2. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #2
    Well, from the description, it sounds like the router's radio is working fine since the PCs can see it.

    If Aiport is ON, can you detect any other routers in the neighborhood? Charge up the battery and talk a walk with it one evening, there should should be some in any good sized neighborhood, or certainly at a coffee shop, Borders, etc.

    That would rule out whether the Airport card is at fault. If it does see the other routers, then we're left with software settings.
     
  3. Canonman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the quick reply, airport is on. It picks up the neighbors wifi on both sides of me, which are both secured.

    I really don't know what to do. As stated, I have gone through WEP, WPA and totally unsecured modes and I can't get the Macbook to connect.

    Besides this one glitch, I'm enjoying learning and getting the hang of the mac OS.

    Anyone suggestions with the software or anything else I can do to connect?
     
  4. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #4
    Not seeing unsecured router . . . that's really odd. Going through the mental checklist here:

    1) Is the router broadcasting the SSID name?

    2) Is MAC filtering turned on? Not Apple Mac, but is the router only allowing specific ethernet addresses only?
     
  5. Canonman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #5
    It "sees" my unsecured router and it sees the SSID name, with the other networks that it picks up, but it won't connect to it.

    The router list the MAC address but dosen't give me a choice to disable it, so I assume it's on since the netbook works.

    I took a few days off for the kids Spring break and I blew today messing around with this. I would much rather be enjoying the macbook outside while watching a couple of rugrats in the sandbox.
     
  6. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #6
    Okay, that helps. Since the Linksys router and the Macbook can see each other, and if the router is not secured, you should be "in like Flint" unless the router has been set to only allow specific ethernet IDs via MAC filtering, which is an optional user security setting, not a default.

    When trying to access the router when security (WEP, WPA) is turned off, what happens and how long does it take to get an error?
     
  7. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I just looked through Google and through a couple of threads here on MacRumors, and it seems that this router has given a number of other Mac users some trouble.

    The best advice I found was that you need to manually reset and reconfigure your router from scratch. The last post in this thread has some instructions you might try.
     
  8. Canonman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #8
    Well, I have followed the instructions from the link to no avail. I have also tried some other suggestions that have supposedly worked for others but the router is still not working. I even went backwards and cleared everything to factory reset and still nothing. The macbook recognizes the router but won't connect using the WiFi but is fine when hardwired. I called Netgear and found out I would have to pay for someone to assist me so I guess it's time for new and improved. Anyway enough is enough, I have spent far too much time trying to fix this problem. I have had the router for five or six years so I probably shouldn't be as ticked as I am.

    So I throw out a couple of questions:

    Can anyone recommend a router that will easily set up to be wired to a windows desktop and will allow the macbook to join wirelessly?

    Unless I am overwhelmingly directed to a certain model in the above question, I am considering a D-Link DIR-625 or Linksys WRT160N any thoughts?
     
  9. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    This might seem like a 'duh' idea but it's worth a shot. Have you tried changing the channel?
     
  10. Canonman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #10
    Channels 1-11, separately of course and then shutting down, disconecting and still no results.
     
  11. Canonman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #11
    I am up and running...

    D-Link DIR-615 $35.99USD after a rebate! Everything "just works" now.

    I will post my pleasure regarding my macbook after I install the new RAM and upgrade the hardrive, due to arrive from newegg tomorrow!!! Lovin' it so far.
     
  12. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    Excellent. I presume a curb-side ceremony is in order for the old router? :D
     
  13. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    Good that you got it to work.

    Yes Netgear routers are pretty useless.
    Don't use netgear routers.
     

Share This Page