Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xenocidal

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2010
Ok, I'm very familiar with mathematical programming but not familiar at all with IT stuff.

I am trying to access an SMP server and reset(or restart?) it. I have all the login info and command lines once i get there, but other than that I have NO idea what I'm doing. On top of that, I was recommended to use PuTTY on windows or linux. Problem is I'm on OSX 10.5.8 and don't know what to use. I assume I would use x11 and/or Terminal to do the same thing, but I have no experience at all.

Would anyone mind giving me a basic tutorial on how to access and manipulate a server like this using a mac? What programs do I use, what commands, etc?

If there is a good tutorial out there I'd love to read it, just haven't found anything on my own. Thanks!

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004
Open Terminal and type:
ssh <login>@<server>

Enter password at prompt.

You're in.

If you need or want a GUI the only one I've heard about is JellyfiSSH but I just prefer to use Terminal. I suppose if you need to keep track of multiple servers and logins, something like that is useful.

xenocidal

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2010
Is it really that simple?

So if I get this straight I type this verbatim into terminal?:

[login ID]@[server IP address]

Angelo95210

macrumors 6502a
Jan 7, 2009
Paris, France
Yes it's that simple. Sometimes the server is not accessible on the standard port (22), this case just do (ie port 2222):

ssh -p2222 login@server

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004
Usually referred to as "*nix commands" to embrace both Unix and Linux.

Linux isn't Unix, it's Unix-like.

Here's the Unix timeline:
Unix-history.svg

OS X is based on BSD, Linux isn't based on any pre-existing Unix-like OS.

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004