Items are deleted instead of moved to Trash

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jiddick ExRex, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #1
    For some reason, after moving to Leopard, files, when dragged to trash or pressing cmd + backspace, I am a given a pop-up warning saying: 'these files will be deleted immediately: ok?', and they are deleted, just like using the rm command in terminal.

    How do I roll back this option to just move stuff to trash? (it works in other accounts btw.)
     
  2. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    the problem is in the file permissions of the directory you are accessing. I've had this problem in Leopard too, even if I have read/write permissions, if the file was created by one of my other user accounts, it just deletes them as if I were connected to a network folder.

    I have to log in to the user account I created them with, and reapply the correct permissions. usually fixes the problem but it can be annoying.
     

Share This Page