iTouch 3G Running iOS 5 Activated

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Dusterdoo, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Dusterdoo, Jun 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2011

    Dusterdoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #1
    Alright. Well, I seem to have been the only one so far to do this on an iPod Touch 3G, so I thought I may aswell tell you how I did it. But, I do have one request, and that is this: If you do repost this on another forum or website, please give a link to this original post and credit me. Now, with that said, let's get to it..

    I'm going to assume that you already have a copy of iOS 5 downloaded and installed...so, I will not tell you how to do that. Let's get onto the real stuff now..

    Set up your device.
    - Select your language
    - Select your region
    - Connect to your wireless access point

    Your device will now try to activate itself, but will fail because apple has not yet set up their official activation server.

    Now, onto the activation process.
    - Triple click the home button to enable Voice Over
    - With Voice Over still enabled, tap the part of your status bar where it displays the text "iPod"
    - Listen to your iPod until you hear the following: "Swipe down with three fingers to reveal the notification center."
    - Swipe down the screen with three fingers
    - Triple click the home button to disable Voice Over
    - Tap the "Local Weather" selection
    - Wait for the weather to load
    - Press the home button
    - ENJOY!

    ~ Dusterdoo
     
  2. zjzjn1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #2
    So seems I don't have to be a developer to have iOS 5, am I right?
    But will iPod then sync with iTunes/iCloud/anything, but not have it restored? Like without apps and music and other?
    So, is it safe for me and my iPod to download and install iOS 5 without being a developer?
    Like for free?

    Thanks for answers...
     
  3. Dusterdoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #3
    Correct. You do not have to have a developer account to run iOS 5 now, but I still have not been able to sync with iTunes and/or iCloud, because my device UDID is not registered with Apple's developer program. I guess it would be safe for you to install iOS 5, but only if you really know what your doing. (IE: You have a way to downgrade back to your old version, because all you can really do is preview iOS 5) Hope that helps!
     
  4. zjzjn1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #4
    Ok, so no syncing for me until fall... Well seems like I'll stay with iOS 4 and lockinfo until then.
    TY for the quick answer.
     
  5. Dusterdoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #5
    No problem. I was just helping out with something that I was having problems with, and then when I finally got it to work, I decided to post instructions. Because I knew that I wasn't the only one struggling to get this to work.
     

Share This Page