iTouch HD in an iPhone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by phoxrenvatio, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. phoxrenvatio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    now that there are 32GB HDs in the iPod Touch, would it be possible to open it up and put the HD in an iPhone?
     
  2. HackBook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #2
    No - apparently the iTouch and iPhone use different flash chips.
     
  3. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #3
    it's flash in iphones and ipod touches, not hard drives

    the storage medium is soldered directly onto the logic board, it is not removable

    you cannot have a 32 gig iphone just yet

    ps. it's iPod Touch, not iTouch
     
  4. cbw87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #4
    On top of the fact that they're soldered in, the iPod touch has space for two chips; both 16gb (making 32gb). The iPhone, due to the extra components it needs to function as a phone, only has space for one chip, the highest capacity being 16gb. Hence, whilst the designs stay the same, the chances are that the top iPod touch config will always have twice the memory of the top iPhone config.
     
  5. iCantwait macrumors 65816

    iCantwait

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    HELL YEAH
     

Share This Page