itouch trouble connecting to internet

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by will5790979, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. will5790979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #1
    for some reason
    im unable to connect to the internet on my touch
    it says i need a password to connect to my network
    and the only password ive ever used to connect isnt working.

    any idea what the problem could be?
     
  2. sgtboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
  3. will5790979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #3

    ive tried that
    im not absolutely sure what the password is supposed to be even
    is it the really long code with the numbers and letters
    or something i previously made up ?
     
  4. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #4
    if you cant remember your wep code, then do this to diagnoas.

    Turn off all encrypttion, authentication and / or security on the router.

    Then test the ipod. if it can connect. GREAT, now you know what the problem is.

    document your router configuration, then change the wep code to something you remember.

    I was recently unable to connect to my router. whole nother problem. wouldnt connect on chanel 7. even if I was standing right next to the router. other wireless devices had no problem. Strange. Changing it to chanel 11 solved the problem.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    It'll be something that you made up.
     
  6. will5790979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #6


    by wep code you dont mean the encryption code right ?
    or the router password?
    because I never remember making anything other then the passwords I do remember using and neither of them are working.
    I'm updating the software on the itouch to see if it helps at all but im not sure that will do much.

    thanks everyone for your help.
     
  7. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #7
    The WEP/WPA code is the encryption code.

    Your iPod doesn't need that.
     
  8. will5790979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #8

    the encryption code is the long one with the random numbers and letters right?
    Because I printed off a couple pages of my network settings and im still having no luck.
     
  9. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #9
    Yes.
     
  10. will5790979 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #10
    ok thanks. I tried that and it still didnt work. I remember the encryption code being different before because I wrote it down when I first set up my router and now the code is totally different. Should I try the old one or is there something else wrong?
     

Share This Page