iTrip for iPhone NOW!!!!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nicholasskearne, May 21, 2008.

  1. nicholasskearne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #1
    some one needs to hury up and please create an app for iTrip so we can stream our ipods threw the radio!!!!!!!!:cool:
     
  2. onlycopunk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    Newtown
    #2
    They also need to make an app that lets me use my iPhone hands free when it's hooked up to my car stereo.
     
  3. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  4. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    I have used the current iTrip's on iPhones flawlessly too. I'm not sure why Griffin doesn't acknowledge it.
     
  5. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    That what i use and its perfect! One of the most expensive but hey its def worth it :)

    If you get a call its annoying but just turn airport mode on to get over it :)
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    No application in the world can do that. The iPhone lacks an FM transmitter, and without that, it is not possible.
     
  7. BEEFc58 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #7
    It has a wireless card. Can that not put out a radio signal?
     
  8. bubbagumpshrimp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #8
    I just paid $30 to have a guy at best buy wire a cable from the back of my stock CD changer to the front dash for clean pure audio and let me just say WOW! I hated those FM ipod docks.
     
  9. illidian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #9
    This is a far better option if you care about the quality of your music.
     
  10. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    I've thought for a long time that somebody would come out with an fm transmitter that used RDS to transmit the song data to the radio. Does this actually work with an iPhone though? Kensington only lists the iPod nano 1G/2G (but not 3G) and the iPod 4G/5G (but not Classic 6G) and does not list iPhone at all.
     
  11. gentlegiantcrai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #13
    Actually the Itrip Autopilot for Iphone submits RDS,
    I have the Autopilot but I do not have a car that spports RDS, but I would assume it works. Attached is what is in the manual.

    http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/itripautopilot
     

    Attached Files:

  12. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #14
  13. gentlegiantcrai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #15
    It Works great if you know what your doing. I have been very happy with it, though I think it could have been a better transmitter. There is only 10 reviews on amazon, not much to go by. I will be adding mine soon.
     
  14. VenomousSVT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #16
    it works in my dads full size 04 chevy, but my rds in my car on my alpine does not work. I am not sure exactly what is different but the factory radio picked it up fine.
     
  15. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #17
    no... just no

    you cannot write software to replace hardware in this case

    it's like making a "boat mode" button on my accord. if i throw it in boat mode and drive into the ocean what will happen?

    a direct link is the way to go, it's cheaper, sounds better and is easier to use because there's less to think about.

    i wonder if someone could write a direct connect app?
     
  16. dancavallaro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #18
    Can someone write an app that will let me use the iPhone on Verizon? Thx

    ...

    Kidding.
     
  17. SHIFTLife macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #19
    If you truly cared about the quality of your music, you wouldn't be using an iPod/iPhone or buying music from iTunes. Truth be told, MP3 (and even iTunes .m4p/m4a @ 128 or 256kbps) is a crap format if you want decent quality music. Anything that's not lossless is going to muddy up your sound. If you don't have a great stereo system, I suppose it doesn't matter quite as much, as we all know it's more of a convenience thing than anything else :)

    That aside, line out is definitely better than and FM transmitter
     
  18. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    While all that is very true, the fidelity of most any car audio system and the horrible acoustics of a car interior will do far more damage to your sound than a lossy mp3 at a decent sampling rate. I can certainly see your point for a high-quality home stereo in a properly setup listening room, but not for a car. The line-in connection will certainly sound bettern than any fm transmitter, however.
     
  19. atomicblastkarl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #21
    And it's super easy to do yourself, mind you. If you have an aftermarket head unit, it's even easier.
     
  20. illidian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #22
    This is why I listen to CDs in my car. :D

    But as danny_w mentioned, there are plenty more things to worry about when we're talking about car audio fidelity. And he didn't even mention all the noise that's out on the roads.
     
  21. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #23
    This is why I have an Alpine ida-X100. Screw lossy line-out. Mine is direct USB from the iphone to the headunit. Plays songs from the ipod app and I also figured out if I pause the ipod playback I can play the other apps such as Tuner, Pandora, and AOL Radio straight through the USB cable to the headunit. No loss of audio there at all.

    FM. Hah. :cool: And it doesn't have a CD player at all... what are CDs again?
     
  22. EasyCheese macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #24
    Because, until it goes through Apple's testing process(again), then it officially hasn't been approved by Apple. So, they legally can't say "Yes, it works"...even though they want to!!
     

Share This Page