It's finally here!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Crawn2003, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. Crawn2003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #1
    After some delays the Mac Pro finally arrived today, two days earlier than expected. Just got done installing the software and what not, so I'll post photos of the setup tomorrow for those that asked.

    Here's the specs:
    Mac Pro Dual Quad Core 3.0GHz
    9GB DDR2 RAM
    1.75TB storage
    ATI Radeon x1900XT
    30" Cinema Display & 23" Cinema Display

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #2
    Looks like a monster setup. Enjoy it and let us know what you like/dislike about it since around September I'll be in the market as well.
     
  3. -kritter- macrumors regular

    -kritter-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Idaho
    #3
    my goodness that thing is beastly!!! congrats :)
     
  4. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #4
    Wow....what are we(read *you*) going to be doing with such an animal of a computer?
     
  5. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, Firefox doesn't eat up THAT much RAM. :D
     
  6. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #6
    Constant use of calculator.
     
  7. flappo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    in the cubicles
    #7
    it'll be a loooooong time before that gets outdated

    nice one !!
     
  8. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #8
    I thought everyone used text edit. I was actually trying to change it up before someone brought that one out of their bag of tricks.
     
  9. Crawn2003 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #9
    I'm going to be using it for web browsing, sending some emails, and listening to iTunes.

    Lol, not really. I'm doing major photo editing and soon enough, with a colleague/friend, a LOT of video editing with Final Cut for a few corporations around Ohio. And when it's on down time by not rendering it'll be Folding @ Home. The place where I got it asked me what exactly I was planning on doing with it, curious just to make sure that I was "worthy", and told them exactly what I'd be doing and they seemed to approve...

    ~Crawn

    P.S. I'm also hoping to do a side short film with the same guy that we've been toying with since high school and that was like 8-9 years ago!
     
  10. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #10
    Now thats a nice set up right there. Good choice going with the 23" dual display also.
     
  11. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
  12. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #12
    I would have said, "You idiots, what do you think I am going to do with it? I'm going to take over the city, and then......THE WORLD!" and then rip their front shirt pocket off and step on it.
     
  13. Klian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #13
    OMG 9GB RAM ?

    My mac pro works perfectly fine with 1GB I cant imagine it with 9GB
     
  14. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #14
    Congratulations! You'll Be King Of Ohio

    Fantastic setup. I'm jealous. Glad to see you had the courage to take the plunge now. Please let us know how it goes with periodic reports of your successes. :)

    That RAM is the 2 x 512MB Sticks base Plus 4 x 2GB sticks right? That's the same way I plan to populate mine as soon as they add a Stoakley logic board.

    What's the hard drive breakdown? 250 base + two x 750GB Seagates?
     
  15. phillipjfry macrumors 6502a

    phillipjfry

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Location:
    Peace in Plainfield
    #15
    parallels + solitaire!! :)
     
  16. MagicWok macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #16
    Just curious, did you purchase the MP extra ram as a BTO, or did you save a hell of a lot of cash and buy the ram from a component supplier?

    Anyway, congrats of the Mighty Mac Pro :)apple: should definately rename the next revision to that lol)
     
  17. Crawn2003 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #17
    I bought is after market, all 8 gigs for like $450 (I know the people that own the Mac place I bought it from, been purchasing Macs from them since the original Titanium PowerBook G4).

    Mighty Mac Pro... Reminds me of Mighty Mouse!

    It didn't really matter to me exactly what motherboard, etc. was in it. I needed something now and I'm one of those that doesn't wait for the next revision. Though I understand why a lot of people are waiting. The hard drive setup is 1x250, 3x500GB and the memory is 2x512, 4x2GB.

    And Royale w/ Cheese, I wish I had thought of that!

    ~Crawn
     
  18. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #18
    Things like that are why my friends either really hate or really love to go shopping with me. I tend to have ALOT of fun at salespeople's expenses when I spend alot of money (ok ANY money). Plus I have a special vendetta toward Genius Bar staff. (ok, that may not be relevant)
     
  19. Jeremy Gray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    Maine
    #19
    My 2.66 Mac Pro with 3gb of RAM is so jealous right now.

    'Don't worry girl, you're still sexy.'
     
  20. flappo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    in the cubicles
    #20
    i was referring to the guy's amazing mac , not your post
     
  21. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #21
    Hey congras OP! I have a very similar setup with 9GB of RAM...excep mt 2.5 Terabytes of space is via a gigabit network.

    Its a sweet machine that kicks major a$$.
     
  22. cr2sh macrumors 68030

    cr2sh

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    downtown
    #22
    Crawn did you buy it from MacDepot or Weingarten(AS)? Can I come over and play wth it?

    :)

    By the way, I just ate a cheeseburger out of the vending machine here at work... :(
     
  23. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
  24. vivalanation734 macrumors newbie

    vivalanation734

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #24
    i honestly don't even know what i would do with that..

    i would probably try to open every app and file i have just to see if it could handle it.
     
  25. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #25
    I tried that when I got mine.

    Hard drive bottleneck still exists. It's more obvious now than ever.
     

Share This Page